Research Guides: Legislative Histories of U.S. Laws Guide: Background on the Issue

Here's how to find background information on an issue

Congress in Context
Historical profiles about the setting, personnel and events which may have influenced the legislation created during a particular Congressional period
GAO Reports
The GAO Reports are reports ("blue books"), audits, surveys, investigations, and evaluations of Federal programs conducted by the U.S. Government Accountability Office (GAO).
Congressional Digest. 1921 - current (monthly).
Click on 'Search within this publication' to find material on an issue. A single controversy is covered in each issue, providing a general introduction and history, an outline of proposed legislation, and both sides of the question.

CQ Magazine This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as CQ Weekly, a weekly review of events in Congress.
CQ Press Library This link opens in a new window
Provides information on historical and current issues in American politics and government, including: Political Handbook of the World; Washington Information Directory; Guides to Congress, the U.S. Supreme Court, the Presidency, U.S. Elections and Political Campaigns; Historic Documents (1972-2017); Vital Statistics on American Politics; and Supreme Court Yearbook.
CQ Federal This link opens in a new window
Formerly called CQ.com on Congress, this database provides extensive coverage of the activities of both Houses of Congress, including Committees. Includes daily articles and reports analyzing Congressional activity, as well as member profiles, the text of bills, schedules and agendas, committee reports and testimony, and more. Simultaneous users: 10 + IP access
Congressional Research Reports This link opens in a new window
Provides access to research reports on a wide variety of public policy issues prepared by the Congressional Research Service for members of Congress. (Remove checkbook next to Select All under Document Types and then select CRS Reports 1916-Present.)
Open access version available here: https://crsreports.congress.gov/
Gale Encyclopedia of American Law (3rd ed.) This link opens in a new window
Covers today's leading cases, major statutes, legal terms and concepts, notable persons involved with the law, and important documents. Includes topics such as the Americans with Disabilities Act, capital punishment, domestic violence, gay and lesbian rights, physician-assisted suicide and more.