Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Materials Properties, Sources & Costs

Subject Guide

Email Me

Contact:

Gelman Library

George Washington University

2130 H Street, NW

Washington, DC 20052

202-994-6924

Subjects: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Computer Science, Ebooks, Engineering, Environmental Studies, Forensic Sciences, Geological Sciences, Life Sciences, Mathematics and Statistics, Medicine and Health, Physical Sciences, Physics, Publishing

Knovel - Data Search
Enter your substance name and then drag and drop properties from the right to narrow your results.
MatWeb
A searchable database of material properties includes thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.

SciFinderN This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the following databases: Chemical Abstracts--Chemical literature (journals, patents, books, etc.; 1907 - present); Registry File--Chemical compound information (structure, molecular weight, spectral information, etc.); Medline--Medical literature (journals, books, conferences, etc.; 1958 - present); CASREACT--Information on chemical reactions (1985 - present); CHEMCATS--Chemical sources (i.e., supplier information); CHEMLIST--Regulatory information (1979 - present).

Thomas Register
Provides U.S. manufacturing company and product information, including online company catalogues and computer-aided design drawings.
IQS Directory
A directory of manufacturers, suppliers, and distributors that provides brief descriptions of each company. It allows for searching by product or service and by company.
Zycon
A directory of manufacturers. It includes company profiles and product catalogues.
R.S. Means Building Construction Cost Data
Location: REF TH 435.B84 (Entrance Floor)
"More than 24,000...unit price lines."
Means Estimating Handbook (3nd edition) 2009
"[P]rovides technical data required to prepare quantity takeoffs and complete construction cost estimates for major construction projects."