Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper & Magazine Archives
Resources available in the Washington, D.C. area:
African & Middle Eastern Reading Room, Library of Congress
The Reading Room is the primary public access point for materials housed in the African and Middle Eastern Division. The extensive collections of the Africana Section of the division include primary source documents, facsimiles, and secondary sources. The Reading Room is open to the public.
African-American Research, The National Archives
This page provides an introduction to research on African-American topics in the federal records holdings of The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).
DC Public Library, Washingtoniana and Black Studies Divisions
The DC Public Library has two Special Collections divisions (Washingtoniana and Black Studies) that are very strong in African and African American historical resources. Both are located at the Martin Luther King, Jr. Memorial Library.
The Moorland-Spingarn Research Center
A research center at Howard University, Washington, D.C., this facility is one of the world's largest and most comprehensive repositories for the documentation of the history and culture of people of African descent in Africa, the Americas, and other parts of the world.
National Museum of African Art
Collections of this Smithsonian museum embrace the diverse artistic expressions found throughout Africa, from ancient to contemporary times. Two of the museum's main research units are the Warren M. Robbins Library (mostly books and periodicals) and the Eliot Elisofon Photographic Archives.
Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room, Library of Congress
The holdings of the Serial & Government Publications Division are very strong in US newspapers, with 9,000 titles covering the past three centuries. The complete suite of the Proquest Black Newspapers (historical), e.g., New York Amsterdam News, is included. The Division's Reading Room is open to the public.
American Folklife Center
Part of the Library of Congress, the Center archives recordings of music and oral history as well as manuscripts and other materials in their over 4,000 collections.
Museum of the Americas
"The museum's permanent collection of contemporary Latin American and Caribbean art is one of the most important of its kind in the United States. The museum also maintains a regular schedule of exhibits and related educational programs."
National Museum of African American History & Culture
Construction of the NMAAHC is scheduled to begin on the Mall in 2012 and completed in 2015. Until then, you to visit their Gallery located on the second floor of the National Museum of American History.
Maryland Historical Society
Documents and digital collections pertaining to African Americans in Maryland.
Smithsonian Anacostia Community Museum
"Documents and interprets the effect of historical and contemporary social and cultural issues on communities."
Alexandria Freedmen's Cemetery
"The Friends of Freedmen’s Cemetery was founded in 1997 for the purposes of preserving, commemorating and researching a little known, Civil War-era, African American burying ground in Old Town Alexandria."
Historical Society of Washington, DC
Their library's collection includes over 100,000 prints, negatives, and slides, from 1860 to the present, as well as manuscripts and artifacts.