Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Newspaper & Magazine Archives
Transatlantic Slavery & Diaspora Digital Archives
Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
A collection of "materials documenting black life, and promoted the study and interpretation of the history and culture of peoples of African descent."
Slavery Images: A Visual Record of the African Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas
Created by the Virginia Foundation for the Humanities and University of Virginia, this site has over one thousand images related to American slavery.
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience
Resources from the trade to 20th and 21st century migration and immigration.
Caribbean History Revealed
"The history of the British Caribbean is explored in this exhibition through government documents, photographs, and maps dating from the 17th century to the 1920s and discovered during a cataloguing project at The National Archives of the United Kingdom.” Material related to all colonies ever under British rule.
Voyages: The Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database
Information on nearly 35,000 slave voyages. The site is the product of a collaboration among by Emory University, The National Endowment of the Humanities, Harvard, and other partners.
Digital Library of the Caribbean
“Provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.” Includes material on slavery, emancipation, and other subjects.
Anti-Slavery International digitized collection of 18th- and 19th-century documents related to the transatlantic slave trade. Includes “the narratives of the enslaved, enslavers, slave ship surgeons, abolitionists, parliamentarians, clergy, planters, and rebels." Material on South Africa.
Estudios Afroamericanos Virtual
The University of Barcelona’s collection of resources on Afro Latin America, including slavery, maroonage and abolition. In Spanish.
Slavery in New York
This groundbreaking exhibit from the New York Historical Society “spans from the 1600s to 1827, when slavery was legally abolished in New York State. Uses objects to document “the collective and personal experiences of Africans and African-Americans in New York."
Black History Canada
Documents the black Canadian history from 1605.
Amistad Research Center
An "independent archive specializing in the history of African Americans and other ethnic minorities."