Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search for Scholarly Articles and Books on Slavery and Abolition
Black Studies Center
A multi-faceted resource that includes:* The Chiciago Defender, 1909-1975, an influential historical African American newspaper* International Index to Black Periodicals, coverage from 1902 onward* Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- Topical overviews by leading scholars* Dissertations-- Full-text dissertations
America: History & Life with Full Text
America: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955.
MLA International Bibliography
Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7
Includes back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, Asian studies, cultural studies, history, literature, philosophy, and sociology.
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers.