Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Statistical Information about Shanghai
China Data Online
Access to current statistical data on a variety of economic and demographic aspects of China. Includes monthly and annual reports on economic development, as well as data from various industries, information on specific companies, statistical yearbooks for China as a whole and from various regions, and a range of census-related information.
Provides access to real time business news, China general news articles and magazines, information and statistics.
Best Serials for Research on Shanghai
China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库
Includes full text and/or full image articles from 2,000+ journals published in China. GW subscription covers the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
China Core Newspapers Full-text Database 中国重要报纸全文数据库
With an archive beginning in 2000, this database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers in China. GW's subscription includes the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
The leading source for serious scholarship on contemporary China, which can be searched to get information on social, political and economic aspects of Shanghai.
An English magazine published in China. It is a good source for news analysis of Shanghai.
Good to search information on the latest political, economic, social and cultural trends in Shanghai.
Best Databases for research on Shanghai
ProQuest Research Library Plus
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
Maps & Atlas
To locate a map of Shanghai, here are some recommended resources: