Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Russian cinema: an introduction (SLAV 2785): Reference resources

This guide is to assist in research on pre-revolutionary Russian, Soviet, and post-Soviet Russian cinema. It provides guidelines for library use and lists some of the most useful reference materials, databases, websites, and book catalogs.

Online reference resources

Printed reference resources

Reference sources:
Reference resources found in the Gelman library can be a good point of departure for your research:

Historical Dictionary of Russian and Soviet cinema, by Peter Rollberg
PN1998.2 .R578 2009 (6th floor Gelman)
The ultimate English language encyclopedic resource on the subject, aside from a wealth of information and very useful filmographies and bibliography, it contains correct transliterations of foreign names and translations of film titles.

A History of Russian Cinema, by Birgit Beumers
PN1993.5.R9B48 2009 (6th floor Gelman)
A recent comprehensive history of Russian cinema from the beginning of film to the present. Contains rich bibliographical references and index.

The Illustrated History of the Soviet  Cinema, by Neya Zorkaya
PN1993.5 .R9 Z57 1991 (6th floor Gelman)
Richly illustrated historical overview of Soviet cinema. 

Kino:   A History of the Russian and Soviet Film, by Jay Leyda
PN1993.5.R9 L47 1983b (6th floor Gelman)
A historical study of  Russian cinema from 1896 to 1983. Illustrated, with excellent filmographies organized by year along with an index and rich bibliographical references.

Silent Witness: Russian Films 1908-1918
PN 1993.5.R9T46 1989 (6th floor Gelman)
A richly annotated and illustrated filmography of Russian silent film organized by year with bibliography and index.

The BFI Companion to Eastern European and Russian Cinema, edited by Richard Taylor… [et al.]
PN1993.5.E2B44 2000 (6th floor Gelman)
Over two hundred entries covering a variety of topics spanning a whole century of varied endeavors and turbulence. Includes entries on actors and actresses, film festivals, studios, genres, directors, film movements, critics, producers, and technicians through the late 1990s.

Oxford History of World Cinema, edited by Geoffrey Nowell-Smith
PN1993.5.A1 O96 1996 (6th floor Gelman)
Contains entries on Russian and Soviet cinema.

Magill’s Surveys of cinema, Foreign language Films, edited by Frank Magill.
PN1993.45.M34 (8 vols) (Reference area, 1st floor Gelman)
Scholarly essays providing plot summaries and evaluating the significance of the films covered. 

International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers.
PN1997.8.I58 1997 (vols.1-4) (6th floor Gelman)
Contains entries on Russian and Soviet films and filmmakers. Entries contain basic information, bibliographic references, and a brief analysis. The volumes are: Vol. 1: Films; Vol. 2: Directors; Vol. 3: Actors and actresses; Vol. 4: Writers and production artists.

The Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union
DK14 .C35 1994 (GRC reference, Gelman 7th floor)
Contains entries on Russian and Soviet cinema.

The Bibliographical Dictionary of the Former Soviet Union
CT1213 .V76 1992 (GRC reference, Gelman 7th floor)
Contains entries on Soviet film actors and directors.

Great Soviet Encyclopedia, (1973-1983)
AE5 .B58 v.1-31 (GRC reference, Gelman 7th floor)
Contains numerous entries on Soviet and Russian cinema, actors, filmmakers.

Subject Guide

Mark Yoffe's picture
Mark Yoffe
Contact:
202-994-6303

Film Studies Guide

For general film information see the Research Guide on Film Studies

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu