Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Russian cinema: an introduction (SLAV 2785): Related databases

This guide is to assist in research on pre-revolutionary Russian, Soviet, and post-Soviet Russian cinema. It provides guidelines for library use and lists some of the most useful reference materials, databases, websites, and book catalogs.

Note on transliteration and database searching

Searching databases you need to be mindful that some Russian names can be transliterated in a few different but accepted ways. That is particularly important when dealing with names ending in “ii” or “y” like in the case of film director Andrei Tarkovskii. His name can be also spelled Andrey Tarkovsky, and even Andrej Tarkovskij. For the most complete results, use all variants in your search.

TIP: For unique names like Tarkovskii or Kozintsev (as apposed to very common names like Ivanov), search the last name of the person.

If you don’t have a specific person or film in mind, you can search these databases using general terms: Soviet cinema, Soviet film, Russian cinema, Russian film, Soviet/Russian film/cinema history or reviews.

For more specific searches you can combine terms, like: Soviet cinema AND World War II, or Soviet film AND women.

 

Related databases

RELATED DATABASES:

Film and television databases that include some materials on Russia and Soviet Union and databases that are best for contemporary materials, reviews and news:

 

Subject Guide

Mark Yoffe's picture
Mark Yoffe
Contact:
202-994-6303
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu