It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The main focus of this encyclopedia is China from the mid-19th century to the 21st century. It contains the information on the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
More than 8,200 Chinese journal titles and nearly 1000 Chinese newspaper titles. Use Chinese simplified characters to search. Note: please download and install CAJviewer for articles with CAJ format. LInk: http://cajviewer.cnki.net.proxygw.wrlc.org/
With an archive beginning in 2000, this database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers in China. GW's subscription includes the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended. Note: please download and install CAJviewer for articles with CAJ format. Link: http://cajviewer.cnki.net.proxygw.wrlc.org/
This database contains thousands of such texts from higher education institutions and research institutes in China since 1984, in the broad subject areas in arts, humanities and social sciences, including art, literature, language, history, philosophy, military affairs, law, education, economics and management. Coverage of dissertations and theses from top universities and research institutes, including "985 Project" and "211 Project" universities and Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, is almost complete. Note: please download and install CAJviewer for articles with CAJ format. Link: http://cajviewer.cnki.net.proxygw.wrlc.org/
The database contains white papers "pi shu" written by key think tanks and academic institutions in China. Pi shu address a comprehensive breadth of issues surrounding the development and governance of modern day China including trade, the environment, military development, and economic growth. The contents of the database fall into the following thematic categories: China Society and Culture; China Economic Development; China Regional Analysis (Provincial, Municipal, and Hong Kong/Macao/Taiwan); China Industrial Sectors; Global Economy, Politics, Security. All pi shu volumes are aggregated from 1996 to present as a full-text, full-image database.
China Geo Explorer is a spatial intelligence data service. It offers Chinese demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in a web-based delivery system. With this spatial intelligence, users are able to make rapid, accurate spatial decisions with greater confidence for regional planning, business investment, population, housing, environmental assessment, public health and many other spatial applications. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographic areas, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.
Brill's Chinese - English Dictionary Online starts off with the Student's Dictionary of Classical and Medieval Chinese. Compiled by Paul W. Kroll and a small group of assisting scholars, it is a practical lexicon of more than 8,000 characters. Arranged alphabetically by Pinyin romanization, this long-awaited tool facilitates reading historical, literary, and religious texts dating from, in the first place, the Warring States period through the Tang dynasty. The dictionary is primarily a zidian 字典, not a cidian 詞典, but in addition to single-graph entries includes an abundance of lianmianci 連綿詞 and important compounds, as well as accurate identifications of plants, animals, and assorted technical terms in various fields. In short, an essential tool and the English-language resource of choice for students of pre-Song texts, and far beyond.
CSYD is the largest and continuously updated statistical yearbooks database in China, including all aspects and fields, such as national accounting, fixed assets investment, population and human resources, people’s living conditions and price indices, enterprises and institutions, finance, natural resources, energy and environment, political and public administration, peasants & agriculture & rural area, industry, construction, transportation and telecommunication, domestic trade and foreign trade, touring catering, education and technology, culture and sports, public health, etc. Please click the hyperlink of China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database for use.
Commonwealth Magazine is a storehouse of information on Taiwan's economic development and the transformation of its society. This electronic journal includes over 310 issues, from the first issue in 1981 through the current issue.
Consists of approximately 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from 1830 to 1949 in all fields of knowledge as well as popular journals. A unique and valuable source for the studies of Chinese politics, history, culture, society, philosophy, literature and arts in that period.
The CPPCC Database is a collection of archives and documents of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), including: Resolutions and Statements, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Representatives Lists, Agendas, Session Updates, Reports, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals and Suggestions from Representatives, News Reports, Video Reports, etc. Simultaneous Users: 2
NPC Database is a collection of reports, primarily by People's Daily and People's Daily Online, on National People's Congress, from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to the 3rd Session of the 10th NPC. Simultaneous Users: 2
Provides information about and, in many cases, full-text searching and / or limited views (up to about 20 pages) of 2,600,000 Chinese books. A useful tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. Works best on Internet Explorer.
This open-access database provides historical sources on the Anti-Japanese War of Resistance and modern Sino-Japanese relations. The formats include books, journals, newspaper articles, images, archives, video/audio materials, maps and etc. In order to download materials from this platform, please create a free account. The maximum pages to download is 2,000 per month. The materials keep growing and will reach to approximately 13 million pages by the end of 2018.
This is an important primary source for scholars of twentieth-century China. The Chinese Literature and History database 中国文史资料集粹 contains full texts of more than 20,000 volumes (650,000 articles) of publications arranged by regions and provinces. The articles are mostly first-person narratives on history, culture, politics, economy, literature and ethnicity among other themes.
With coverage from1832 to 1953, the 12 English-language Chinese historical newspapers that comprise the database provide researchers unique insight into Chinese political and social life during this turbulent 120 year period. Included are critical perspectives on the ending of more than 2,000 years of imperial rule in China, the Taiping Rebellion, the Opium Wars with Great Britain, the Boxer Rebellion and the events leading up to the1911 Xinhai Revolution, and the subsequent founding of the Republic of China. In addition to the article content, the full-image newspapers offer searchable access to advertisements, editorials, cartoons, and classified ads that illuminate history.
This database includes more than 200 Chinese newspapers that were published from 1840 to 1949 at both national and local levels. The national level newspapers are such as 《新华日报》《东南日报》《京报》《晨报》，and the local newspaper are like 《北京益世报》《东北时报》《湖南妇女报》《青岛时报》.
The database Policies, Laws & Regulations of China provides valuable information on Chinese jurisdiction, legislature, and business laws. The database holds more than 1,000 records covering a comprehensive range of Chinese policies, regulations and Laws of both national and regional levels from 1949 onward. Simultaneous Users: 2
Full-text, full image of Renmin Ribao (人民日报, People’s Daily), the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, and the central newspaper of record for the modern Chinese state. The database features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and 100% searchable text. The interface is in Simplified Chinese and content before 1955 is in Traditional Chinese. Coverage: 1946-5/2012.
The Shen Bao (申报, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer (IE) browser.
Users must download a reader using Internet Explorer (IE) (Please go to this webpage to install the reader: http://www.eastview.com/online/sikudownload before use. Email China Studies Librarian at email@example.com for questions. Simultaneous users: 1
Taiwan Academic Classics offers classic works from China/Taiwan and contemporary scholarly thought from academic societies in Taiwan and around the world. The federated search platform of Taiwan Academic Classics incorporates full text searchable Web access to core journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1928 to the present with ancient compilations from China's earliest Dynasties. Taiwan Academic Classics includes authoritative archives and historic documents from the era of the Chinese Republic. Taiwan Academic Classics integrates a total of 2 billion characters, 300 different journals, 6,630 ancient works and more than 100,000 dissertations, with contributions from 35,000 authors.
Offers full-text Taiwanese periodicals in five main categories: Social Sciences, Humanities, Applied Sciences, Medical & Life Sciences, and Natural Sciences. Searchable in English or Chinese. Abstracts are in English. Full-text (PDF) articles are in Chinese.
Access to this Japanese magazine published by the Taiwan Governor House during the Japanese colonial period. Issues included were politics, industry, trade, transportation, military, education, judiciary, police, civil engineering, technology, handicraft and arts.
Covers a time span from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese colonial period and incorporates local histories, and official documents of the Ming and Qing Dynasties. The database covers a wide variety of dimensions of Taiwan, including history, geography, local customs, politics, economy, sociology, laws and culture.
This database provides news articles from eight newspapers (see below for coverage), among which are five major newspapers published by the United Daily News Group in Taiwan. These include United Daily News, Min Sheng Daily, United Evening News, Economic Daily News, and Star News. 聯合報: September 1951-present: 經濟日報: April 1967-present; 聯合晚報: February 1988-present; 民生報: February 1978-November 31, 2006; 星報: September 1999-October 31, 2006; 歐洲日報: February 2000-August 31, 2009; 美洲世界日報: February 2000-present; Upaper: March 2007-present
A very functional search engine by National Library of Germany with comprehensive index of resources from major databases, catalogs and open access materials focusing on Asia studies, especially China studies.
The archive currently holds about 3,400 carefully curated items that address various aspects of how the CCP, in the aftermath of Mao's death, dealt with past injustices. Scholarly introductions provide a starting point for exploring various facets of the available materials. Collections and exhibits showcase highlights from the archive. Translations of selected items allow access for non specialist readers. Other features include the ability to transcribe handwritten Chinese documents that have been uploaded, and a resources section that includes our Zhongfa Directory and extensive bibliography.
The Online Guide East Asia offers access to electronic resources related to East Asian studies - and Asian studies in general - in both western and original language. You may search a term and then filter your results by further criteria such as subject classes, region, language, kind of resource etc.
This database contains four seminal women's or gendered journals-a key genre of the new media-published between 1904 and 1937.
They include Nüzi shijie (Women's World, 1904-07), Funü shibao (The Women's Eastern Times, 1911-17), Funü zazhi (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31), and Linglong (Elegance, 1931-37).
The Late Qing and Republican-Era Chinese Newspapers collection provides invaluable perspective on this critical period. The press of more than twenty cities is represented, spanning the Chinese mainland and the entire half century. The collection provides researchers a richly comprehensive perspective on Chinese life, culture, and politics throughout the collapse of the Qing Dynasty, the years of provisional government and civil war, and the birth of the People’s Republic.
Exploring China Map Library with About 8 Million Maps including maps for Census data 2000 and 2010, Economic Census 2004 and 2008, Basic Unit Census 2001, industry Census 1995, Land Cover and Nighttime Lights.
Digital archive to the official newspaper of the People’s Republic of China’s Central Military Commission. The publication acts as the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army for the release of military news and comprehensive military-related information. Dates of coverage January 1, 1956 to present; updated annually.
This database has academic books published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macao including both primary sources and secondary literature. The GW Libraries' holdings from Airiti eBooks focus on modern and contemporary China studies.
Arranged alphabetically by Pinyin romanization, this long-awaited tool facilitates reading historical, literary, and religious texts dating from, in the first place, the Warring States period through the Tang dynasty. The dictionary is primarily a zidian 字典, not a cidian 詞典, but in addition to single-graph entries includes an abundance of lianmianci 連綿詞 and important compounds, as well as accurate identifications of plants, animals, and assorted technical terms in various fields. In short, an essential tool and the English-language resource of choice for students of pre-Song texts, and far beyond.
GW’s comprehensive university-wide information repository showcases our faculty and researchers and their research, scholarship and expertise. You can search and discover more about our researchers and scholars across all disciplines, e.g., with a focus on China studies.
A collection of documentaries, features and newsreels produced primarily in the communist world and later re-edited for British and Western audiences. Originating from nations throughout the USSR, Asia, Europe and Latin America, these films have been digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels.
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational content from the Films Media Group. Films are provided as Flash Video streams, with Windows Media and QuickTime also available for most titles.
A varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society and Western interactions with China and Southeast Asia.
British Library Newspapers, Pts. I & II, offer full runs of national, regional, and local nineteenth-century British newspapers, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The papers provide a broad, yet detailed view of British life in the nineteenth century; from business to sport, from politics to entertainment and the arts. The two collections together cover 69 titles.
Formerly restricted British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Features diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials that provide insight into a turbulent period in Chinese history. The documents allow students and researchers intimate access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and more.
The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.Use GW vpn for off-campus use.
NOTE: Register for a CEIC account (no charge) to save searches and download data, or click guest access to search without downloading. Limit: 5 simultaneous users. Please log out when finished! Over 2.5 million item time series covering economies from the United States and China to Vietnam, Bulgaria, Chile, and Kenya. It offers a quick country reference on key indicators such as GDP, GNP, FDI, and CPI, as well as detailed, hard-to-find information on 18 macroeconomic and 14 industrial sectors.
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
The Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) was a translation and publishing service created in the U.S. Commerce Department's Office of Technical Services in 1957 to provide government agencies with translations of unclassified foreign source documents, including scientific and technical reports, scholarly journals, trade and commercial statistics, defense reports, and more. Succeeded by World News Connection in 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
An independent non-governmental research institute and library located at The George Washington University, the Archive collects and publishes declassified documents obtained through the Freedom of Information Act. The Archive also serves as a repository of government records on a wide range of topics pertaining to the national security, foreign, intelligence, and economic policies of the United States.
The Asia Pacific Database is a bibliographic and fulltext database that provides area coverage (especially for economic development, investment, trade and technological industries) for Northeast Asia and Asia-Pacific. It provides easy bibliographic and fulltext access to journals, newspapers, conference proceedings, press releases, books, manuals, magazines, and ephemera.
One of the oldest English-language newspaper in Korea, with coverage back to the 1950s. The Korea Times is known for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news. It also provides a window into historical and modern politics, society, economy, and culture in Korea and is a good source for researching local, regional and international news from the Korean perspective.
History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
Gale Primary Sources is an integrated research environment that allows users to search across all of their Gale primary source collections. Gale Primary Sources takes users beyond a simple search and retrieve workflow, allowing them to analyze content using frequency and term-relationship tools. Through intuitive subject-indexing users will discover new material even in the most familiar of content sets.There are a lot of primary sources related to China studies.
ProQuest History Vault unlocks the wealth of key archival materials with a single search. Researchers can access digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and many more primary source materials taken from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collections.. The collections related to China studies including: Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 03: China and India, 1941-1949; Office of Strategic Services (OSS)-State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, Part 09: China and India, Supplement, 1950-1961
CQ Voting and Elections Collection integrates data, analyses, concise explanations, and historical material to provide research material on the American voter, major and minor political parties, campaigns and elections, and historical and modern races for Congress, the presidency, and governorships.
Contains information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Includes citations ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to ones accepted as recently as last semester. Of over 1.5 million titles listed, Proquest offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the citation includes the Proquest order number.
Premier source for economic literature in scholarly journals (including book reviews), books, dissertations, and working papers. Covers accounting, capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and more. Published by the American Economic Association.
Provides political, economic, and business information on countries. Generally, the best way to use the database is to select country report under My Reports and Services and then select the country from the list that is then displayed.
Provides detailed country surveys containing the latest analytical, statistical and directory data available for over 250 countries and territories. This resource also provides analytical essays on the following regions: Africa South of the Sahara Central and South-Eastern Europe, Eastern Europe, Russia and Central Asia, The Far East and Australasia, The Middle East and North Africa, South America, Central America and the Caribbean, South Asia, The USA and Canada, and Western Europe.
Contains two sets of polling information: the Gallup Poll Social Series, public opinion surveys on social, economic, and political topics accessible to all users, and the U.S. Tracker and World Poll providing, respectively, U.S. public opinion datasets at the country, state and U.S. city respondent levels, and international public opinion datasets. Note: Dataset access is restricted to GW students, faculty, and staff. Interested users should contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
Full-text periodicals, news, reports, books, and proprietary background information summaries relating to terrorism and security. Combines deep background from scholarly sources with expert commentary from a range of organizations, agencies, and publishers and reviews of recent developments across the international political, military, economic, social, and technical spectrum.
Providing current news pertaining to all branches of the military, this database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets. Includes CountryWatch's Country Review.
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Ongoing full-text academic journals locally published in various East Asian and South Asian countries.The subjects cover major areas of study, including business, science, technology, engineering, social sciences, education, and humanities.