It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
As part of the Global Resources Center (GRC), China Documentation Center (CDC) is an international scholarly resource and a national central repository of Chinese language publications concerning the military, national security, politics, society, economy, law, and foreign relations of the People's Republic of China.
A one-shop place to search digital, electronic and print materials related to Asia studies, supported by National Library at Berlin. To search, type the search term in the search box (with "Suche" as background) and click the search button. The open-access database can get access to 100 million bibliographic records.
CLHD provides primary sources studies on twentieth-century China. It contains full texts of more than 20,000 volumes (650,000 articles) of publications arranged by regions and provinces. The articles are mostly first-person narratives on history, culture, politics, economy, literature and ethnicity among other themes.
China Geo Explorer is a spatial intelligence data service. It offers Chinese demographic and economic data, maps, charts and reports in a web-based delivery system. Data sources in this database includes demographic and business information for all PRC geographic areas, including 31 Provinces, 345 Prefecture Cities, 2,873 Counties, and over 50,000 Townships.
Includes full text and/or full image articles from 2,000+ journals published in China. GW subscription covers the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
GW’s comprehensive university-wide information repository showcases our faculty and researchers and their research, scholarship and expertise. You can search and discover more about our researchers and scholars across all disciplines. Search "China" to find GW experts with a focus on China studies.
Visit the CDC
Our location, open hours, library entrance policy, access to staff assistance, and other information.
A varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society and Western interactions with China and Southeast Asia.
Formerly restricted British Foreign Office files dealing with China, Hong Kong and Taiwan between 1919 and 1980. Features diplomatic dispatches, letters, newspaper cuttings, political pamphlets, reports of court cases and other materials that provide insight into a turbulent period in Chinese history. The documents allow students and researchers intimate access to eye-witness accounts, weekly and monthly summaries, annual reviews, reports and analyses, economic assessments, synopses on Chinese personalities, and more.
The full-text database from Taiwan contains full-text journal articles published in Taiwan on humanities, social science, natural science, biomedical science and applied science. It offers cross-database search from Journals from the National Central Library, Dissertations and MA theses database, Google Scholar, Wanfang Database, CNKI databases and HyRead ebook.
Digital archive to the official newspaper of the People’s Republic of China’s Central Military Commission. The publication acts as the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army for the release of military news and comprehensive military-related information. Dates of coverage January 1, 1956 to present; updated annually.
Chinese newspapers published from 1840 to 1949 at both national and local levels.
China Studies Resources in Gelman
Welcome to the library research guide on China studies. This guide aims to connect you with both English and Chinese resources related to China studies available at GWU. The resources are grouped together according to their formats and languages, marked by separate tabs. If you have questions about this guide, want to set up a research consultation appointment, or schedule a tour to visit the CDC, please contact Dr. Yan He at firstname.lastname@example.org.