Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Gale eBooks is a database of encyclopedias and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office). There are many reference books related to China studies.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China Online
The main focus of this encyclopedia is China from the mid-19th century to the 21st century. It contains the information on the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
Provides information about and, in many cases, full-text searching and / or limited views (up to about 20 pages) of 2,600,000 Chinese books. A useful tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. Works best on Internet Explorer.
Chinamaxx Digital Libraries (超星中文电子书)
ChinaMaxx contains full-text Chinese e-books from cover to cover on the subject areas of China economy, politics, military affairs, international relations, security and social studies.
China Reference Works Online
CSYD is the largest and continuously updated statistical yearbooks database in China, including all aspects and fields, such as national accounting, fixed assets investment, population and human resources, people’s living conditions and price indices, enterprises and institutions, finance, natural resources, energy and environment, political and public administration, peasants & agriculture & rural area, industry, construction, transportation and telecommunication, domestic trade and foreign trade, touring catering, education and technology, culture and sports, public health, etc.
Ebooks, journal articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. There are many useful sources related to China studies.
Browse by Subject
Browse by Subject -- China Documentation Center -- Gelman Library
The CDC collection numbers more than 10,000 items and is growing almost daily. To see holdings on select topics, click on the link, which brings you to links related to different subject areas. A click on the subject term will execute a search in the catalog, which includes holdings of the CDC.
WorldCat (OCLC FirstSearch)
WorldCat is a union catalog that itemizes the collections of 72,000 libraries in 170 countries and territories that participate in the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC) global cooperative. GW students can borrow books available from WorldCat via ILL.
Mobile version available. Access to the OCLC online union catalog. Includes library holdings from across the United States and around the world. NEW: try the next generation of WorldCat and FirstSearch here.