Research Guides: War in Ukraine Resources: Western Reaction and Resources

News and Analysis from Western Sources

Western Think Tanks

These hyperlinks will open webpages or blogs focused on the Ukraine crisis and updated by staff at prominent American think tanks.

International organizations

NATO on Ukraine

NATO Library research guide

United Nations on Ukraine

United Nations Library Background on Ukraine

Western Sanctions Against Russia

Starting in March 2014, the US, the EU, and other Western countries have imposed a range of sanctions targeting the Russian economy, freezing assets belonging to particular individuals, and banning certain business transactions. The sanctions were strengthened and upgraded following the February 24, 2022 Russian invasion of Ukraine.

United States

US Department of State on war in Ukraine and sanctions against Russia

US Department of Treasury on Russia sanctions

European Union

U.S. Military Aid to Ukraine

Foreign Media Database Searches

In order to find scholarly materials on this subject go to SUBJECT DATABASES on the GWU library website. Then go to A to Z list and choose the productive databases listed below. For your searches use key words such as: EU OR European Union AND Crisis in Ukraine; Western media AND Crisis in Ukraine; Western reaction AND Crisis in Ukraine; Germany AND media AND Crisis in Ukraine; France AND media AND Crisis in Ukraine etc.

For assistance with database searching please, contact Global Resources Center librarian Mark Yoffe.

Factiva This link opens in a new window
News and Media Database
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
News and Media Database
ABI/Inform Complete Plus This link opens in a new window A great starting place for business research, this database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Covers magazines and scholarly journals in the fields of mass media and communication studies. Combines the resources formerly known as CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Political Science Database This link opens in a new window Full text access to over 450 political science and international relations journals as well as dissertations, country reports, and policy papers.
ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window Multidisciplinary database covering both scholarly sources and popular content. Includes the contents of ProQuest Research Library, ABI-Inform, and U.S. and International Newsstreams, as well as various ProQuest disciplinary collections.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.