Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EAP 1015 FALL 2021: Learn searching library databases

Contact your librarian

Conducting research using Gelman library databases can be very productive and rewarding. For that reason, we have put together this guide, which contains a wide selection of databases dealing with a variety of subjects. To start, go to the Gelman Library home page and click the SUBJECT DATABASES button it will take you to the list of subject categories list under which specific databases can be found. Alternatively you can click on A to Z tab. It will take you to the alphabetic list where you can find a needed database by name.

Starting your research and planning it most efficiently can be at times tricky and the Global Resources Center (GRC) staff is ready to help and guide you through this process. Expert assistance from professional librarians on staff at the GRC is available via email, telephone, WebEx or Zoom. We can help you to narrow or focus your research question or topic, to identify most productive research resources or to locate hard to find information and to structure your search and keyword strategies. Call or write librarian Mark Yoffe at 202 994-6303, yoffe@gwu.edu for a research appointment or consultation.

Database searching learning modules

To learn and improve your database searching skills go to Getting Started Databases and Searching learning modules.

Go to the entire text of Getting Started Databases and Searching module which consist of 38 slides including educational videos and self-check quizzes and teaches you to:

  1.  Distinguish between a database and a search engine
  2.  Describe what a library database is and why you might use it                               
  3.  Compare and contrast the uses of general and subject specific library databases                               
  4.  Identify and access databases on the library’s website
  5.  Choose keywords that return relevant results from library databases.

To view the slides most effectively please view them in PRESENTATION mode.

To go through the entire module will take you about 2 hours. You can also study the modules by chapter: each chapter module focusing on the certain specific aspect of search engines, databases, and searching techniques. These chapter modules are located below.

Four individual database study modules

Here you can study individual topics related to search engines, databases and keyword searching.

To view the slides most effectively please view them in PRESENTATION mode.

Module 1: Search Engines

Module 2: Databases

Module 3: General and Subject Databases

Module 4: Keywords and Searching

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu