Research Guides: Islamic Studies: Reference

Electronic Reference Databases

Use these online databases for literature reviews or as a way to start your research with brief overviews of topics, complete with helpful bibliographies. These databases are available through Gelman and provide reference information on Islam and the Islamic World. If you are outside of Gelman, you are required to log in for access.

Encyclopaedia of Islam Online This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online sets out the present state of our knowledge of the Islamic World. It is an authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live. Includes access to the First, Second and Third Editions, the Second Edition Glossary, and the Historical Atlas of Islam.
Qur'anic Studies Online (formerly Encyclopedia of the Qur'an) This link opens in a new window
Qur?nic Studies Online is a set of three encyclopaedic dictionaries of qur?nic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur?nic studies. The Encyclopaedia of the Qur?n Online is the first comprehensive, multi-volume reference work on the Qur?n to appear in a Western language.
Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures crosses history, geographic borders and disciplines to create a reference work reflecting research on gender studies and the Islamic world. Useful for researchers in the fields of gender studies, Middle Eastern and Islamic studies, as well as scholars of religion, history, politics, anthropology, geography and related disciplines.

Oxford Reference Works on Islam
Includes Oxford Dictionary of Islam, Grove Encyclopedia of Islamic Art and Architecture, Oxford Encyclopedia of Islam and Politics, and more.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: Islamic Studies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Islamic Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.