Research Guides: Consumer Health Claims: Home

Consumer Health Resources

MedlinePlus
MedlinePlus, created by the National Library of Medicine, provides access to reliable information about health related issues.
Mayo Clinic
Provides answers to commonly asked questions about diseases and symptoms. From a well-known network of doctors.
Medical Library Association Page for Health Consumers and Patients
Provides excellent guidelines for evaluating consumer health information found on the web. Also includes lists of the "top" health websites.
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH)
The National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (NCCIH) is the Federal Government’s lead agency for scientific research on the diverse medical and health care systems, practices, and products that are not generally considered part of conventional medicine. NCCIH was formerly known as the National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine.

Image courtesy of lobster20 at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Finding Articles & Other Vetted Resources

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
CINAHL Plus with Full-Text offers authoritative coverage of nursing and allied health journals, providing full text for more than 770 journals indexed in CINAHL.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
Public access version of the Medline database. Includes life and health sciences articles including clinical, basic sciences, and public health information. Incorporates Himmelfarb Library's customized search filters for EBM/Clinical Reviews, EBM/Clinical Trials, and Reviews. Includes links to related genetic, chemical and taxonomic information. Produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

Google
But limit your search to site:.gov

ulrichsweb.com (Ulrich's Periodicals Directory) This link opens in a new window
Contains information on more than 300,000 periodicals and serials of all types, from academic journals to popular magazines and more. Includes the Ulrich's database and reviews from Magazines for Libraries and Library Journal.

Finding Articles When You Have A Citation

a)Use Google Scholar to search for the article title (be sure you have it set up to automatically allow you free access to GW’s subscription resources – here's how.

b) Search the Gelman Library Discovery Tool using your article title. Here's how.

c) Use Journal Search to search by Journal title. Here's how.

Consumer Health Claims

Subject Guide

APA Online Guides

Articles with Conflicting Claims?

Consumer Health Resources

Finding Articles & Other Vetted Resources

Finding Articles When You Have A Citation