Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian
George Washington University
Search this Guide
This guide highlights print and online sources useful for research in museum studies.
Find Primary Sources
Find Local Resources
Schedule a research appointment
Related Research Guides
Covers print and online resources useful for research in the field of American history.
Resources for doing research in the field of anthropology.
includes encyclopedias, dictionaries, biographical sources, indexes to journal articles, sources for reproductions, and web links to local libraries.
Research and resources for exhibition design.
Academic Search Complete
This article database spans a broad range of important areas of academic study; it covers a sizable number of peer-reviewed journals and offers significant full-text article coverage.
America: History & Life with Full Text
America: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Covers scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities.
See the "Find Articles" page to the left for additional databases.
WRLC catalog search
Search for books in the catalog
Author (Last First)
Companion to Museum Studies (2011)
Contains specially commissioned articles providing a convenient and comprehensive overview of the latest trends and critical directions in Museum Studies.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America.
Hardcopy. Location: Gelman Ref. E169.1 .G7553 2009.
Examines the daily life of Americans from 1763 to 2005 through historical analysis and primary documents.
Official Museum Directory (2016)
Provides the most accurate and up-to-date information on America's museums. Currently lists 15,300 institutions of every size and type in all 50 states.
Oxford Reference Online
Includes over 200 titles, updated regularly, in the Oxford Companions and Oxford Dictionaries series. The collection covers a wide variety of subjects from the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
Find Articles >>
Jul 20, 2017 1:16 PM
Login to LibApps
• 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052