Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Linguistics Collection This link opens in a new window
This collection combines Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA), the leading index for linguistics, with full-text for many titles. It covers all aspects of the study of language including phonetics, phonology, morphology, syntax, and semantics.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
ARTFL (American and French Research on the Treasury of the French Language) This link opens in a new window
Access to databases containing the full-text of a broad range of significant books, texts, bibliographies and other works supporting the study of French language and literature.
China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
More than 8,200 Chinese journal titles and nearly 1000 Chinese newspaper titles. Use Chinese simplified characters to search. Note: Please use IE browser.
Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics This link opens in a new window
The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics Online comprehensively covers all aspects of Arabic languages and linguistics. It covers pre-Classical, Classical, Modern Standard, vernaculars and mixed varieties of Arabic.
Index Translationum This link opens in a new window
The Index Translationum, begun in 1932, is an international bibliography of book translations.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Loeb Classical Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text searchable digital editions of all volumes of the Loeb Classical Library currently in print, with new texts added biannually. Provides Greek and Latin text with facing English translations.
Ma'agarim: the Hebrew Language Historical Dictionary Project This link opens in a new window
The Historical Dictionary Project (HDP) is the research arm of the Academy of the Hebrew Language. It aims to encompass the entire Hebrew lexicon throughout its history; that is, to present every Hebrew word in its morphological, semantical, and contextual development from its first appearance in written texts to the present.
Nikkoku Online (日国オンライン) This link opens in a new window
Nikkoku Online = Unabridged Japanese Dictionary. A database version of the largest Japanese dictionary, Nihon Kokugo Dai-jiten, 2nd edition. The dictionary consists of 14 volumes, and contains 500,000 subjects as well as 1 million usage examples, which cover from classical Japanese to modern Japanese.
Oxford Dictionaries Online This link opens in a new window
Online, bilingual dictionaries and audio pronunciation guides in Chinese, French, German, Italian, Russian, and Spanish.
Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Access to the definitive dictionary of the English language. Revisions and additions ongoing.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
Russia/NIS Newspapers/Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to Russian newspapers, military periodicals, and parliamentary publications.
Siku Quanshu (四庫全書) This link opens in a new window
Users must download a reader (using Internet Explorer) in order to access this resource. Please click on database link for more information. Please email The Global Resources Center at firstname.lastname@example.org or call 202 994-7105 for questions. Simultaneous users: 1
Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text Taiwanese periodicals in five main categories: Social Sciences, Humanities, Applied Sciences, Medical & Life Sciences, and Natural Sciences. Searchable in English or Chinese. Abstracts are in English. Full-text (PDF) articles are in Chinese.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present. Includes digital versions of Greek texts, searchable in Greek, with links to English translations where available. ***Please note that the new
system requires each user to create a user profile.***
Ask a Librarian