Databases: History: History Databases

America: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.

Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.

Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.

This database provides full-text access to articles from a number of historic African American newspapers, beginning in 1827 with Freedom's Journal. The collection contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and offers first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

This collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

This resource features 64 fully searchable newspapers published in Africa before 1900 and originally archived by the British Library. Students and researchers will find news and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more. This database along with Readex sister databases African Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 can be searched concurrently via a single interface for access to nearly every newspaper published on the African continent in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

This resource features over 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content includes English and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. This database along with Readex sister databases African Newspapers, British Library Collection can be searched concurrently via a single interface for access to nearly every newspaper published on the African continent in the 19th and early 20th centuries. See: Africa's Historical Newspapers

Al Manhal is a major full-text searchable database of scholarly and analytical publications from the Middle East, Africa, and Asia. Material is primarily in Arabic, with selected material in English. Includes ebooks, peer-reviewed journals, theses, and think tank publications covering the arts, architecture, biography, business, culture, economics, classical and contemporary languages and literatures, education, history, geography, Islamic studies, Islamic finance and banking, law, media and communications, political science and international relations, science and technology, and the social sciences.

Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. This rich library from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) covers subjects including advertising, health, women's issues, education, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Offers full-text biographical articles for more than 18,300 men and women from all eras and walks of life whose lives have shaped the United States. No. of concurrent users: 5.

Page-images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers illuminating the development of American culture, politics, and society across 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, or words in the complete text.

The largest and broadest online collection of genealogical records. Each record collection includes detailed information about the source, and many collections include images of primary source documents and/or transcriptions, in addition to unique name indexes. New content and updates are added weekly.

This database provides searchable, primary source documents held by the National Archives, Kew (U.K.) that chronicle the politics, wars, administration, and diplomacy surrounding the Palestine Mandate and the Arab Israeli conflict.

ArchiveGrid contains the descriptions of nearly one million archival collections held in archives around the world.

Includes Parts l & ll. Part I brings together primary source content on the social, political, health, and legal issues impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Includes the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/AIDS crisis, and more. Part ll highlights marginalized groups—even within the LGBTQ community—and enables users to draw new connections across the development of LGBTQ culture and activism through access to key publications.

A varied array of records of traders, travellers, missionaries and diplomats, from the mid-seventeenth century to the late twentieth century, offering Western perspectives on all aspects of Chinese culture and society and Western interactions with China and Southeast Asia.

A wide range of sources, by writers, diplomats, tourists, businessmen, missionaries and others, documenting the political, cultural and social history of Japan from 1400 to the 20th century.

Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.

As the major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875; 1881-1984), provides insight into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text.

The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991) provides unprecedented access to news from this major port city. The database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The Bibliography of British and Irish History (BBIH) is the most extensive guide available to published writing on British and Irish history. It covers the history of British and Irish relations with the rest of the world, including the British Empire and the Commonwealth, as well as British and Irish domestic history.

The link takes you to the History Vault main page; select "Civil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle." This database provides access to primary sources that document both well-known and unheralded events in the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the people who waged it; including federal government and organizational records, and the archives of the NAACP. 

A multi-faceted resource that includes: The Chicago Defender, 1909-1975, an influential historical African American newspaper; International Index to Black Periodicals, coverage from 1902 onward; Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience-- Topical overviews by leading Black Studies scholars; Dissertations-- Full-text dissertations

British Library Newspapers, Pts. I & II, offer full runs of national, regional, and local nineteenth-century British newspapers, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The papers provide a broad, yet detailed view of British life in the nineteenth century; from business to sport, from politics to entertainment and the arts. The two collections together cover 69 titles.

This collection consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the American consular post in Jerusalem pertaining to the protection of interests of American citizens,foreign trade, shipping, and immigration.

This database is the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in the Caribbean. Featuring over 140 newspapers from 22 islands, this unique resource is a comprehensive primary resource for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century. The database chronicles the region’s evolution across two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items.

Digital access to official British government records relating to the region, from the decline of the Silk Road, through the diplomatic confrontation between the British and Russian Empires known as the “Great Game”, to the influence of the emergent Soviet Union in the 20th century.

The Historical Chicago Defender (1909-1975), an influential, historical African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Proquest collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1998) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every issue through 1998.

Comprehensive documentation examines the political background of the civil war, the failed efforts of American mediation, and the ramifications of Communist victory.

The papers of Winston S. Churchill comprising more than 80,000 pages of original documents, produced between 1874 and 1965, and including Churchill's official and personal correspondence. The database replicates the Churchill Papers on deposit at the Churchill Archives Centre, Churchill College, Cambridge.

Full text of articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Major events described in detail by both Union and Confederate papers, so their opposing perspectives are readily available.

Sourced from The National Archives, U.K., this database offers access to 16,691 files from the political departments of the U.K. Foreign Office responsible for reporting on the Soviet Union and the former communist states of Eastern Europe from 1953-1982. Documents are primarily in English, with high-resolution, full-text searchable images. Issues covered include state leadership, party politics, protest movements, agricultural output, international trade agreements, scientific progress, minority populations, religion, sporting events, state-run media and popular culture.

Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.

The Confidential Print series, issued by the British Government between c. 1820 and 1970, is a fundamental building block for political, social and economic research. This collection consists of the Confidential Print for the countries of the Levant and the Arabian peninsula, Iran, Turkey, Egypt and Sudan. Beginning with the Egyptian reforms of Muhammad Ali Pasha in the 1830s, the documents trace the events of the following 150 years, including the Middle East Conference of 1921, the mandates for Palestine and Mesopotamia, the partition of Palestine, the 1956 Suez Crisis and post-Suez Western foreign policy, and the Arab-Israeli conflict.

This series consists of reports, studies, and surveys on various topics of interest to the Department of State. The reports vary from short memorandums to detailed, documented studies. The topics range from individual commodities or countries to the economic and political characteristics of whole regions. This collection consists of research and intelligence reports prepared during 1941-1947 on Korea.

This database covers over ten thousand periodicals of 200 kinds established and participated in by Chinese Communist Party before 1949.

Presently contains 32 annual volumes of primary sources, each volume with approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the year. Documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions, to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.

Consists of approximately 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from 1830 to 1949 in all fields of knowledge as well as popular journals. A unique and valuable source for the studies of Chinese politics, history, culture, society, philosophy, literature and arts in that period.

Declassified Documents Reference System, now U.S. Declassified Documents Online, provides access to declassified U.S. government documents drawn from Presidential libraries.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets and broadsides printed in America from 1639-1800. Based on the renowned American Bibliography by Charles Evans (14 vols., 1903-34, 1955-59); and subsequent bibliographic works by Roger Bristol, James Mooney and Clifford Shipton. Includes more than 36,000 printed works and 2.3 million pages.

Provides full-text and full-page-image access to books, pamphlets, and broadsides published in America in the early part of the 19th century. Based on the noted American Bibliography, 1801-1819 by Ralph R. Shaw and Richard H. Shoemaker, offers more than four million pages from over 36,000 items. Complements Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. While assembling the original collection, Readex focused its publishing efforts on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.

EEBO contains over 100,000 books published in English since 1475. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. Update: Texts continue to be added to the online version as they are scanned from the microfilm.

Unique collection of India Office Records from the British Library, London. Containing royal charters, correspondence, trading diaries, minutes of council meetings and reports of expeditions, among other document types, this resource charts the history of British trade and rule in the Indian subcontinent and beyond from 1599 to 1947.

Contains some searchable and readable editions of Early English Books (texts published in English since 1475). Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. For more non-searchable full text of Early English Books, see EEBO.

Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Database will contain, when complete, over 60,000 images of original manuscripts and printed documents, enabling researchers to explore colonial history, politics, culture and society. Section I (now available) examines cultural contacts throughout five centuries of Empire, from Columbus to decolonization. It draws upon sources such as diaries and eyewitness accounts of European travelers, correspondence and periodical literature.

Published by Johns Hopkins University Press with the sponsorship of the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present, from various perspectives both American and within the global American Studies movement.

Indexing of printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of Native American peoples. Among subjects covered are natural disasters, disease outbreaks, and slavery. Based on "European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750," the recognized authoritative bibliography on the subject.

Covers the internal organization, personnel, and activities of some of the most prominent American radical groups and their movements to change American government and society during the 1960s. Includes the FBI files on the Black Panther Party, Students for a Democratic Society, the Counterintelligence Program of the FBI and more.

Hundreds of captivating personal collections, including diaries, scrapbooks, journals, albums, personal items, and more, that reveal the voices of men and women during the Great War.

Digital collection of British Foreign Office documents from the National Archives of the UK. Material types include: Diplomatic dispatches, Telegrams, Newspaper cuttings and transcripts, Maps, Photographs, Political and economic reports, Accounts of visits and tours, Minutes of meetings, Conference proceedings, Letters, leaflets and other ephemera. Content covers: 1947-1964, Independence, Partition and the Nehru Era; 1965-1971, South Asian Convicts and Independence for Bangladesh; 1972-1980, Afghanistan and the Cold War, Emergency Rule in India, and the Resumption of Civilian Rule in Pakistan.

This collection of British Foreign Office documents provides significant insight into the events between the end of WWI and the end of World War II, crucial to understanding Japan politics during this period. Topics covered include ultra-nationalism and the Japanese agenda of imperial dominance in the Far East, employment and social conditions in a time of global economic instability, and the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923. These documents record relations with Axis Powers in the context of changing alliances, the deterioration of relations with the Allies as World War II reached the Pacific, and American post-war occupation of Japan.

Offers a significant collection of British diplomatic correspondence, minutes, reports, political summaries and personality profiles addressing the policies, economies, political relationships and significant events of every major Middle East power. Conflicts such as the Arab-Israeli War, the Lebanese Civil War and the Iranian Revolution are examined in detail, as are the military interventions and peace negotiations carried out by regional and foreign powers like the United States and Russia. Commercial interests are also scrutinized, with in-depth analyses of Middle East nations economic stability and reviews of international arm sales policies. The activities of oil producing nations such as Saudi Arabia are closely monitored, with particular reference to the Gulf States and members of OPEC.

Searchable page images from Harper's Weekly magazine for 1857-1877, the Civil War era through Reconstruction.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. To log in, select The George Washington University as your institution, then log in with your UserID and regular GW password.

The Siraj al-tawarikh is the most important history of Afghanistan ever written. The roots of much of the fabric of Afghanistan's society today - tribe and state relations, the rule of law, gender issues, and the economy - are elegantly and minutely detailed in this immense work.

Integrates four bibliographies to create the definitive international database for the history of science, technology, and medicine. It reflects the influences of these fields on society and culture from prehistory to the present. Includes records of journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations and other materials.

This database provides access to primary sources that document both well-known and unheralded events in the Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century from the perspective of the people who waged it; including federal government and organizational records, and the archives of the NAACP. 

The Parliamentary Papers are the most detailed primary source for Nineteenth Century Britain, its colonies, and the wider world. They are the working documents of government for all areas of social, political, economic, and foreign policy. This comprehensive digital collection includes all 79,000 papers issued by the House of Commons between 1801-1900. Simultaneous Users: unlimited

This resource opens research into a range of subjects from an indigenous perspective. It has been developed with the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned. It presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016, with a strong concentration from 1970 forward.

Provides a comprehensive, current bibliography of articles in journals and miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, essay collections or Festschriften) covering Europe, North Africa and the Near East from 300 to 1500.

Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2020.

This collection provides insights into President Kennedy's views on foreign affairs, U.S. leadership of the "West," and various worldwide crises. There are documents on the Bay of Pigs and Cuba, Berlin, American efforts to support Third World countries, balance of payments and foreign trade, Alliance for Progress and Latin American relations, nuclear weapons and testing, NATO and the Multilateral Force in Europe, Southeast Asia and regional security, and much more.

Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.

Accessible through the JapanKnowledge site, Kokushi Daijiten is one of the largest encyclopedias of Japanese history. It encompasses every aspect of Japan's history, including entries in related fields such as archaeology, folklore, religion, art, Japanese language and literature, and geography. Users can search among the main entries (about 54,000 entries) as well as subentries (about 4,000 entries carefully chosen from subentries of all levels), or search by articles' references or authors.

This comprehensive collection of facsimile documents contains all available diplomatic reports regarding Korea that are housed in the British National Archives. The period covered by the collection begins with the Korean monarchy, and includes the time spent under Japanese rule, the split into north and south Korea, and the Korean War.

Latin American Newspapers offer significant coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. The newspapers chronicle the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.

This database provides access to LGBTQ+ studies scholarship, popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus primary sources, including monographs, magazines and newspapers. It also includes a specialized LGBTQ+ thesaurus.

This series consists of correspondence and telegrams received and sent by the United States' diplomatic post in Liberia. The topics covered by these records include all aspects of relations with Liberia, and interactions of American citizens with the Liberian government and people.

Provides full-text articles from "The Lily, A ladies' journal devoted to temperance and literature," issued from 1849 until 1853. The newspaper began as a temperance journal, but gradually began to include articles about other subjects of interest to women, many from the pen of social activist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (pseudonym: "sunflower").

Full-text searchable digital editions of all volumes of the Loeb Classical Library currently in print, with new texts added biannually. Provides Greek and Latin text with facing English translations.

The Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

This historical archive of Miami’s oldest surviving newspaper, known today as The Miami Herald, provides an unmatched record of daily life in South Florida. Additionally, this newspaper has a strong reputation for its international reporting from the Caribbean and Latin America.

This publication was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, an abolitionist society founded by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan. The newspaper contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world. Covers years 1840-1870.

Declassified documents regarding critical U.S. foreign policy decisions organized into 62 collections.

Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.

The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time. Coverage: 1916-2003

Offers a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Provides more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished.

The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.

Contains 3,500 World War II and Cold War era special, classified reports about Asia, Europe, the Soviet Union, the Middle East, Latin America, and Africa commissioned by the Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and the U.S. State Department and written by the days’ leading scholars. At the time, the reports helped to shape U.S. foreign policy decisions. Choose George Washington University from the drop down box.

Oxford Bibliographies in African American Studies offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

Oxford Bibliographies in Atlantic History offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.

This encyclopedia reviews and interprets a broad array of research on Latin American politics, including topics related to political institutions, processes, and parties; social movements; political economy; racial and gender politics; and Latin America's international relations.

Offers substantive, peer-reviewed articles; regularly updated.

The Papers of George Washington Digital Edition (PGWDE) contains the entire text of the fifty-two volumes of the print edition published by the University of Virginia Press through 2005, in six series: Diaries, Revolutionary War, Colonial, Confederation, Presidential, and Retirement.

Historical (not current) coverage of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, going back to Volume 1 for most titles (in some cases, over 200 years). Full-text articles are available from several hundred titles.

A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.

This rich resource features annotated, searchable transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House tapes. Audio files, as available, accompany the transcripts.

(Formerly LexisNexis Congressional.) A comprehensive source of Congressional information including bills, hearings, testimonies, and legislative histories.

Full-text, full image of Renmin Ribao (????, Peoples Daily), the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, and the central newspaper of record for the modern Chinese state. The database features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and 100% searchable text. The interface is in Simplified Chinese and content before 1955 is in Traditional Chinese. Coverage: 1946-5/2012. For off-campus access, please use the GW VPN.

An annotated bibliography of historical work covering the entire span of U.S. foreign relations since 1600.

This database covers issues from 1943-1946 of the Shanghai Evening Post and Mercury This English-language newspaper represented the perspective of Shanghai's American business community.

Slavery and the Law features petitions on race, slavery, and free blacks that were submitted to state legislatures and county courthouses between 1775 and 1867. These petitions were from hundreds of courthouses and historical societies in 10 states and the District of Columbia. This database also includes the State Slavery Statutes collection, a comprehensive record of the laws governing American slavery from 1789-1865.

Primary sources and histories of slavery, with an emphasis on legal aspects. Includes all known legal materials on slavery in the United States and the English-speaking world.

A collection of documentaries, features and newsreels produced primarily in the communist world and later re-edited for British and Western audiences. Originating from nations throughout the USSR, Asia, Europe and Latin America, these films have been digitized from the original 16mm and 35mm reels.

Taiwan Academic Classics offers classic works from China/Taiwan and contemporary scholarly thought from academic societies in Taiwan and around the world. The federated search platform of Taiwan Academic Classics incorporates full text searchable Web access to core journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1928 to the present with ancient compilations from China's earliest Dynasties. Taiwan Academic Classics includes authoritative archives and historic documents from the era of the Chinese Republic. Taiwan Academic Classics integrates a total of 2 billion characters, 300 different journals, 6,630 ancient works and more than 100,000 dissertations, with contributions from 35,000 authors.

Offers full-text Taiwanese periodicals in five main categories: Social Sciences, Humanities, Applied Sciences, Medical & Life Sciences, and Natural Sciences. Searchable in English or Chinese. Abstracts are in English. Full-text (PDF) articles are in Chinese.

Access to this Japanese magazine published by the Taiwan Governor House during the Japanese colonial period. Issues included were politics, industry, trade, transportation, military, education, judiciary, police, civil engineering, technology, handicraft and arts. NOTE: For off-campus access, please use the GW VPN.

Covers a time span from the Tang Dynasty to the Japanese colonial period and incorporates local histories, and official documents of the Ming and Qing Dynasties. The database covers a wide variety of dimensions of Taiwan, including history, geography, local customs, politics, economy, sociology, laws and culture. NOTE: For off-campus access, please use the GW VPN.

This collection offers unique primary source documents relating to the demonstrations and their aftermath: public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, news clippings and much more.

The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. "The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2011" makes 200 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th and 20th century history.

This unique collection of over 4,000 formerly classified U.S. government documents provides a comprehensive survey of the U.S. intelligence communitys activities in Europe, including Eastern Europe, Turkey and Cyprus, covering the time period from the end of World War II to the fall of the Iron Curtain and beyond.

Since 1945, the U.S. intelligence community has had to cover a half dozen major wars and several dozen smaller but equally bloody armed conflicts in the Middle East, as well as innumerable civil wars, border clashes, armed insurgencies, and terrorist attacks. This comprehensive document set sheds light on the U.S. intelligence community's spying and analytic efforts in the Arab world, including the Middle East, the Near East, and North Africa. It covers the time period from the end of World War II to the present day, up until the 2002-2003 Iraqi Weapons of Mass Destruction (WMD) assessments, the Global War on Terror, the Iraq War, and Iran's nuclear program.

Published weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries. The paper appeared in three competing versions from a succession of publishers over the years, some published concurrently, and all under the same title.

This database provides a searchable facsimile of every page of every issue of the Washington Evening Star from its founding on December 16, 1852 to the day it ceased publishing on August 7, 1981. Considered the “paper of record” for national political coverage, the Star was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. The paper covers nearly 130 years of American history, offering significant new research opportunities from the Antebellum Period to World War I to the Post-Vietnam Era.

Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issuecover to coverin downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.

This collection traces the path of women’s issues through the nineteen and twentieth centuries—pulling primary sources from manuscripts, newspapers, periodicals, and more.

A collection of full-text primary materials documenting various movements and events in the history of women's social reform activities. Sources include documents, images, and books, and are organized around topical document projects.