Databases: Historical and Retrospective: Historical and Retrospective Databases

Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.

This database provides full-text access to articles from a number of historic African American newspapers, beginning in 1827 with Freedom's Journal. The collection contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and offers first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

This collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.

Provides digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1684 and 1912. This rich library from the American Antiquarian Society (AAS) covers subjects including advertising, health, women's issues, education, science, the history of slavery, industry and professions, religious issues, culture and the arts, and more.

Page-images from more than 1,100 historic American magazines, journals, and newspapers illuminating the development of American culture, politics, and society across 150 years. Articles can be searched by author, source, or words in the complete text.

ArchiveGrid contains the descriptions of nearly one million archival collections held in archives around the world.

Art & Architecture Source includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books, and includes a collection of over 63,000 images. It supersedes Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective. There is strong international coverage.

Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.

The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

British Library Newspapers, Pts. I & II, offer full runs of national, regional, and local nineteenth-century British newspapers, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The papers provide a broad, yet detailed view of British life in the nineteenth century; from business to sport, from politics to entertainment and the arts. The two collections together cover 69 titles.

The Historical Chicago Defender (1909-1975), an influential, historical African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Proquest collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1998) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every issue through 1998.

A database of archival documents detailing the history of modern China, primarily from The National Archives in the United Kingdom, the Second Historical Archives of China, and the British Library. Content covers the early 1800s through the 1990s.

This is an important primary source for scholars of twentieth-century China. The Chinese Literature and History database 中国文史资料集粹 contains full texts of more than 20,000 volumes (650,000 articles) of publications arranged by regions and provinces. The articles are mostly first-person narratives on history, culture, politics, economy, literature and ethnicity among other themes.

Full text of articles gleaned from over 2,500 issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Text begins with the events preceding the outbreak of war at Fort Sumter, continues through the surrender at Appomattox, and concludes with the assassination and funeral of Abraham Lincoln. Major events described in detail by both Union and Confederate papers, so their opposing perspectives are readily available.

Colonial State Papers provides access to thousands of papers concerning English activities in the American, Canadian, and West Indian colonies between the sixteenth and eighteenth centuries. Also included is a digitized version of The Calendar of State Papers, Colonial: North America and the West Indies 1574-1739, which contains bibliographic records and extracts for thousands of additional documents.

Contains information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses from over 1,000 North American and European universities. Includes citations ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to ones accepted as recently as last semester. Of over 1.5 million titles listed, Proquest offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the citation includes the Proquest order number.

This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. While assembling the original collection, Readex focused its publishing efforts on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.

EEBO contains over 100,000 books published in English since 1475. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. Update: Texts continue to be added to the online version as they are scanned from the microfilm.

Contains some searchable and readable editions of Early English Books (texts published in English since 1475). Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. For more non-searchable full text of Early English Books, see EEBO.

Use Eighteenth Century Collections Online to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of millions of pages, the product allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Database platform that links to materials in physics, engineering and related fields. Provides access to the databases Compendex, GEOBASE, and Knovel which can be searched separately or together.

HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world. To log in, select The George Washington University as your institution, then log in with your UserID and regular GW password.

Contains over 37,000 statistical time series from the earliest dates of United States history to most recent available at the time of publication in 2006. Off-campus users, please access via the GW VPN.

Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.

Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.

Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.

Provides full-text articles from "The Lily, A ladies' journal devoted to temperance and literature," issued from 1849 until 1853. The newspaper began as a temperance journal, but gradually began to include articles about other subjects of interest to women, many from the pen of social activist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (pseudonym: "sunflower").

The Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.

The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Offers a unique and personal view of what it meant to immigrate to America and Canada. Provides more than 100,000 pages of personal narratives including letters, diaries, pamphlets, autobiographies, and oral histories. Much of the material is previously unpublished.

The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.

Historical (not current) coverage of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, going back to Volume 1 for most titles (in some cases, over 200 years). Full-text articles are available from several hundred titles.

Covers journal articles, book chapters, and book reviews in all areas of philosophy.

A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.

This rich resource features annotated, searchable transcripts of the Kennedy, Johnson, and Nixon White House tapes. Audio files, as available, accompany the transcripts.

Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, business, law and more. Journal coverage, spanning from 1887 to present, includes international material.

Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.

The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. "The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2011" makes 200 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th and 20th century history.

Published weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries. The paper appeared in three competing versions from a succession of publishers over the years, some published concurrently, and all under the same title.

Searchable full-text archive of the Wall Street Journal from 1889 to 2002.

Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issuecover to coverin downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.

A collection of full-text primary materials documenting various movements and events in the history of women's social reform activities. Sources include documents, images, and books, and are organized around topical document projects.