Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Covers magazines and scholarly journals in the fields of mass media and communication studies. Combines the resources formerly known as CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, linguistics, business, law and more. Journal coverage, spanning from 1887 to present, includes international material.
ABI/Inform Complete Plus This link opens in a new window
A great starting place for business research, this database covers business conditions, trends, management techniques, corporate strategies, and industry-specific topics worldwide. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films on Demand is a streaming video platform for educational content from the Films Media Group. Films are provided as Flash Video streams, with Windows Media and QuickTime also available for most titles.
Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Gender-related scholarship inside and outside academia, combining Women's Studies International, Men's Studies and Sexual Diversity Studies and relevant contributions from the Child Development and Adolescent Studies and Family and Society Studies Worldwide databases.
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 This link opens in a new window
Humanities & Social Sciences Index Retrospective: 1907-1984 offers a broad range of subject coverage in the humanities and social sciences with high-quality indexing of more than 1,300,000 articles in nearly 1,100 periodicals, dating as far back as 1907, as well as citations of over 240,000 book reviews.
International Encyclopedia of Communication This link opens in a new window
Spans the breadth of communication studies, including coverage of theories, media and communication phenomena, research methods, problems, concepts, and geographical areas. Editorial areas include: communication theory and philosophy, interpersonal communication, journalism, intercultural and intergroup communication, media effects, strategic communication, public relations and advertising, communication and media law and policy, media systems in the world, and communication and technology.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
LexisNexis Academic: please use Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database has been replaced by Nexis Uni.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the international literature in sociology and related social and behavioral sciences. Included are citations to journal articles and book reviews, books, book chapters, dissertations, and conference papers. Many records for articles from major journals added since 2001 also include lists of works cited.
TV News Archive (Vanderbilt) This link opens in a new window
Catalog of materials in the Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University, which contains network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks (ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN), as well as special news-related programming (including ABC’s Nightline). Streaming online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999. VHS copies of other broadcasts are available for loan, for a fee.
Ask a Librarian