Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This research guide provides you with digital and electronic sources on Chinese studies. Due to the COVID-19, many vendors and publishes open their sources for free. Please check the second page for COVID-19 Open Access Sources and other permanent open access digital collections.
China Documentation Center Librarian
Featured GW Subscribed Databases
China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库
Includes full text and/or full image articles from 2,000+ journals published in China. GW subscription covers the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.
China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database (Pi Shu)
The database contains white papers "pi shu" written by key think tanks and academic institutions in China. Pi shu address a comprehensive breadth of issues surrounding the development and governance of modern day China including trade, the environment, military development, and economic growth. The contents of the database fall into the following thematic categories: China Society and Culture; China Economic Development; China Regional Analysis (Provincial, Municipal, and Hong Kong/Macao/Taiwan); China Industrial Sectors; Global Economy, Politics, Security. All pi shu volumes are aggregated from 1996 to present as a full-text, full-image database.
Taiwan Academic Classics
Taiwan Academic Classics offers classic works from China/Taiwan and contemporary scholarly thought from academic societies in Taiwan and around the world. The federated search platform of Taiwan Academic Classics incorporates full text searchable Web access to core journals in the humanities and social sciences from 1928 to the present with ancient compilations from China's earliest Dynasties. Taiwan Academic Classics includes authoritative archives and historic documents from the era of the Chinese Republic. Taiwan Academic Classics integrates a total of 2 billion characters, 300 different journals, 6,630 ancient works and more than 100,000 dissertations, with contributions from 35,000 authors.
Featured Open Access Sources
- National Emergency Library
A collection of books that supports emergency remote teaching, research activities, independent scholarship, and intellectual stimulation while universities, schools, training centers, and libraries are closed
Featured COVID-19 Open Access Resources