Research Guides: Public Policy Guide: General Public Policy Areas

Databases

CQ Press Public Affairs Collection
Features in-depth reporting on vital issues, statistical and historical analyses, historic documents and primary source materials, as well as a directory of key government, nonprofit, and private organizations in each of the major policy areas
Congressional Digest
A new issue is addressed each month.

Congressional Research Reports
Provides access to research reports on a wide variety of public policy issues prepared by the Congressional Research Service for members of Congress.
Global Think Tanks
Growing digital repository providing access to more than 3 million reports, working papers, policy briefs, and data sources drawn from over 21,000 IGOs, NGOs, internationally-based think tanks and research organizations, along with document histories of 450 defunct organizations. Content is harvested (and indexed) on trending research topics across a wide range of disciplines and includes hard-to-find local and regional collections and at-risk content.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
CQ Researcher Online features original, comprehensive reporting and balanced analysis on issues of major political importance. CQ Researcher is a particularly good source of bibliographies on current topics.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, books, conference proceedings, and other literature on the full range of political, social, and public policy issues. Also included is information about websites, publications and organizations.
Policy File Index This link opens in a new window
Literature from think tanks.

ProQuest Congressional Topic Pages
Government activities on selected public policy issues

voxgov This link opens in a new window
Provides access to real-time documents, publications, press releases, and social media posts from all branches, offices, agencies, and elected officials of the U.S. Federal Government. Extensive search and filtering options; most content is from 2000-present.