This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the field of public administration. There is a separate guide for non-profit management.
Last Updated: Jan 30, 2013
International encyclopedia of public policy and administration- 1998
Ref H97 .I574 1998
Handbook of public administration- 1998
JF1351 .H277 1998
- Public Administration Abstracts
Public Administration Abstracts includes citations and abstracts on subjects such as: Administration and Economy, Administration and Politics, Administrative Structures and Organization, International Relations, Organizations, and Policy, Public and Social Services, Taxation, Budgeting, and Finance, Theory and Method, etc.
- Military & Government Collection
This database covers about 400 titles, with the full text of nearly 300 journals and periodicals and 245 pamphlets.
- ABI/Inform Complete Plus
An excellent management (including public management) periodicals database. Includes articles from magazines, trade publications, and scholarly journals.
- Federal, State, and Local Governments 1992 -
This contains a plethora of statistical and other information on U.S. federal state and local governments from the U.S. Census Bureau.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (ProQuest)
Published since 1878, the authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Sources of data include the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations. For editions before 2013, see the U.S. Census Bureau version of this database.
- Statistical Abstract of the United States (Census Bureau Edition)
Also available at Reference HA 202 (latest edition in Ready Reference and in Reference; earlier editions in the fifth floor stacks). 1879-2012.
This is a good first place to look for U.S. statistical information. A subject index leads to tables with footnotes indicating the sources of the tables. Published by the U.S. Bureau of the Census.