Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
On this page
This page contains sources for background information and more focused research articles and reports in environmental science. Check the Topic Specific Resources tab to see more focused resources in areas such as ecology, toxicology, climate, energy, policy and more.
Sources for Background Information
AccessEngineering This link opens in a new window
320+ full text titles with comprehensive authoritative content from a broad range of McGraw-Hill engineering publications.
Sources for news and recent research
Sources for Research Articles & Reports
Proquest Natural Sciences Database This link opens in a new window
The ProQuest Natural Science Database covers a broad selection of topics related to natural, biological, and environmental sciences and includes the following collections: the Environmental Science Database, the Agricultural & Environmental Science Database, the Biological Science Database, and the Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database. Use this resource to access full-text titles from around the world including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, government publications and more.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Database This link opens in a new window
This database includes the renowned AGRICOLA, TOXLINE, ESPM
(Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management) and Environmental Impact
Statements (EIS) databases and provides full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications. This database includes specialized, editorially curated A&I resources covering such topics as the effects of pollution on people and animals and environmental action and policy responses. Coverage: 1960-current.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Comprised of scholarly and general interest titles, as well as government documents and reports, GreenFILE offers a unique perspective on the positive and negative ways humans affect the ecology. GreenFILE provides abstracts and indexing to over 600 journal titles, drawing on the connection between the environment and disciplines such as agriculture, education, law, health and technology. Some full text is included.
GEOBASE This link opens in a new window
Available through Engineering Village. GEOBASE is a multidisciplinary database of indexed research literature on the earth sciences, including geology, human and physical geography, environmental sciences, oceanography, geomechanics, alternative energy sources, pollution, waste management and nature conservation.
Environmental Impact Statement (EIS) Database (EPA) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about Environmental Impact Statements (EISs) prepared by federal agencies, as well as EPA's comments concerning the EISs. Includes records of all EISs since 1987, and full text of all since 2012.
Environmental Impact Statements (ProQuest) This link opens in a new window
The National Environmental Policy Act (NEPA) requires that U.S. federal agencies or anyone receiving federal funding prepare detailed analyses of any of their actions that significantly affect the quality of the environment. Abstracts available back to 1985; the full-text, including maps and SIS, is available for statements issued in and since 2003.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Includes several citation indices covering sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search by a specific index, or across all indices. Citations to articles in more than 8,000 major research journals. Also permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).