Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
China Academic Journals Full-text Database 中国期刊全文数据库 This link opens in a new window
More than 8,200 Chinese journal titles and nearly 1000 Chinese newspaper titles. Use Chinese simplified characters to search. Note: Please use IE browser.
China Doctoral Dissertations (中国优秀博士学位论文全文数据库) This link opens in a new window
This database contains thousands of such texts from higher education institutions and research institutes in China since 1984, in the broad subject areas in arts, humanities and social sciences, including art, literature, language, history, philosophy, military affairs, law, education, economics and management. Coverage of dissertations and theses from top universities and research institutes, including "985 Project" and "211 Project" universities and Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, is almost complete.
China Proceedings of Conferences Database (中国重要会议论文全文数据库) This link opens in a new window
China Proceedings of Conference Full-text Database collects proceedings of domestic and international conferences sponsored by societies, associations, universities and institutions, and governments of the first and second levels in China.
Chinese Cultural Revolution Database This link opens in a new window
Original documents including CCP notices, instructions, proclamations, speeches and major media commentaries.
Dacheng pre-1949 journals full-text database (大成 老旧刊全文数据库) This link opens in a new window
Consists of approximately 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from 1830 to 1949 in all fields of knowledge as well as popular journals. A unique and valuable source for the studies of Chinese politics, history, culture, society, philosophy, literature and arts in that period.
Database of the Chinese Government This link opens in a new window
This database includes archives and publications of the Chinese central government, its ministries and subsidiaries, and regional authorities. Simultaneous Users: 2
Database of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (中国人民政治协商会议资料库) This link opens in a new window
The CPPCC Database is a collection of archives and documents of the Chinese People's Political Consultative Conference (CPPCC), including: Resolutions and Statements, Pictures, Press Conferences, Important Commentaries, Representatives Lists, Agendas, Session Updates, Reports, Leaders' Activities, Selected Proposals and Suggestions from Representatives, News Reports, Video Reports, etc. Simultaneous Users: 2
Database of the Communist Party of China This link opens in a new window
This database contains archives and publications of the Communist Party since its establishment in 1921.
Database of the National People's Congress This link opens in a new window
NPC Database is a collection of reports, primarily by People's Daily and People's Daily Online, on National People's Congress, from the 1st Session of 1st NPC to the 3rd Session of the 10th NPC. Simultaneous Users: 2
Duxiu (读秀) This link opens in a new window
Provides information about and, in many cases, full-text searching and / or limited views (up to about 20 pages) of 2,600,000 Chinese books. A useful tool for discovering bibliographic information; for locating particular search terms within a text; and for getting a preview of a text. Works best on Internet Explorer.
Policies, Laws & Regulations of China (中国政策法规资料库) This link opens in a new window
The database Policies, Laws & Regulations of China provides valuable information on Chinese jurisdiction, legislature, and business laws. The database holds more than 1,000 records covering a comprehensive range of Chinese policies, regulations and Laws of both national and regional levels from 1949 onward. Simultaneous Users: 2
English Primary Resources Databases
Chinese Civil War and U.S.-China Relations: Records of the U.S. State Department's Office of Chinese Affairs, 1945-1955 This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive documentation examines the political background of the civil war, the failed efforts of American mediation, and the ramifications of Communist victory.
FBIS: Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new window
The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.
North China Herald This link opens in a new window
The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.
Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China Relations, 1989-1993 This link opens in a new window
This collection offers unique primary source documents relating to the demonstrations and their aftermath: public mail, memoranda, reports, cables, meeting notes, news clippings and much more.
World News Connection (1995-2013) This link opens in a new window
Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.
Other English Language Databases
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Brill's Encyclopedia of China Online This link opens in a new window
The main focus of this encyclopedia is China from the mid-19th century to the 21st century. It contains the information on the history, geography, society, economy, politics, science, and culture of China.
International Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Current indexing and abstracting of the world's leading journals in political science. Simultaneous users: 8
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations to the international periodical literature in political science and its complementary fields.