Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Geography

This guide is intended to assist those doing research in the area of Geography.

Find information in encyclopedias and dictionaries

Encyclopedia of Geography Los Angeles, [Calif.] ;London : SAGE, c2010.

Online.  With 1,224 entries, this encyclopedia encapsulates an enormous diversity of topics in all subdisciplines of Geography.

Companion Encyclopedia Of Geography. London, Routledge, 2002.
Location: GELMAN Stacks G 116 .C645 2002 
Gives scholarly essays on a number of subjects within the geographical discipline; the overall theme of the resource is the interdependency between people and their environment.

Dictionary of Human Geography Oxford, Blackwell, 2000.
Location: GELMAN Ref GF 4 .D52 2000 2nd Floor
A guide to the concepts, terms, and theories of human geography.

Dictionary of Physical Geography. Oxford, Blackwell, 2000.
Location: GELMAN Ref GB 10 .D53 2000 2nd Floor
Provides definitions of terms and explanations of key ideas, concepts and issues in physical geography.

Encyclopedia of Human Geography Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2006.
Online.  Offers a comprehensive overview of the major ideas, concepts, terms, and approaches that characterize a very diverse field.

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu