World War II in Asia: Pre-War Period

Database of periodicals published by the Chinese Communist party before 1949. More than ten thousand of such periodicals available.
Site is in Chinese.

Consists of approximately 7,000 Chinese periodicals published from 1830 to 1949. Topics available include Chinese politics, history, culture, society, etc.
Site is in Chinese.

Database of archives and publications of the Communist Party since its establishment in 1921.
Site is in English.

Online database containing Chinese newspapers dating from 1832 to 1953. Also allows for search of period advertisements, cartoons, editorials, and others.
Site is in English.

Database of Chinese newspapers from both national and local levels, published between 1840 and 1949.
Site is partially in English.

Database of the Shen Bao newspaper containing PDFs of the newspaper issued between 1872 and 1949, with more than 2 million articles.
Site is in Chinese.

Database containing a variety of sources on the history of Taiwan, spanning from the times of the Tang Dynasty to the times under Japanese colonial rule.
Site is in Chinese.

Database containing journals, periodicals, and other media, on women's issues published between 1904 and 1937.
Site is in English.

A collection of Prints and other archival material on the first Sino-Japanese War, collected by the Japan Center for Asian Historical Records and the British Library.
Site in English.

Archive of various documents from and about the Korean Independence movements in Korea during the Japanese colonization period.
Site in English.

Independence Hall of Korea. In Korean.

Database containing documents on Korean Independence movements by the Japanese.
Site in Korean.

Various primary sources, including contemporary maps, newspapers, etc., provided by the Library of Congress depicting Korea during its period under Japanese rule. Sources also accompanied by narratives of the history of Japanese rule in Korea.
Site is in English. Languages of the Primary Sources vary.

Court marshal case against Kwantung Army, April 25th, 1922. Site is in Japanese.

The Japanese constitution adopted following the Meiji Restoration. It would be this constitution with which Japan found itself in the years leading up to the Second World War.
Site in English.

A collection of primary sources from the period leading up and into the Second World War, including the insubordination of the Japanese Military in China and the collapse of civilian rule, provided by the National Diet Library of Japan.
Site is in English.

An extensive, dramatic, and interactive article written by the Asahi Newspaper about the Nomonhan Incident and the Battle of Khalkhin Gol, complete with maps and photos. Site is in English.

Week by week video coverage of the First World War, done as part of the centennial anniversary of the First World War. Important background information for any study of the Second World War.