World War II in Asia: War

A collection of accounts, photographs, and other primary sources on the Japanese attack and occupation of Nanking, and the infamous aftermath.
Most accounts from the point of view of westerners in the city at the time.
Site in English.

Archive containing various anti-Japanese propaganda posters made by the Chinese, as well as various other Chinese propaganda posters from different time periods.
Site in English.

Database of the English-language newspapers Shanghai Evening Post and Mercury from between 1943 and 1946.
Site in Chinese.

A collection of, as its name implies, newspapers dating from the Late Qing Dynasty and Republican Era China. Everything from the collapse of the Empire, the civil war, to the birth of the PRC is covered here.
Site in English.

A collection of more than 38000 photos taken by those of the North China Railway company during the period around, and including, the Second World War.
Site is in Japanese.

A collection of photographs taken in Shanghai, China, through the years of 1937 to 1949. Also documents the Jewish refugees in the city fleeing the Holocaust.
Site in English.

As its name implies, an archive of photos taken in parts of China under Japanese occupation during the Second Sino-Japanese War.
Site in Japanese.

A series of maps helping to illustrate the course of the Second World War.
Site in English.

Maps of the European theatre provided by the U.S. Library of Congress.
Site in English.

Video series chronicling the events of the Pacific War, week by week, in real time. Narration in English.

Photo documentation on the British involvement in the Pacific during the Second World War. Site in English.

A research guide, provided by GWU, filled with various sources on the Battle of Okinawa, fought at the tail end of the Second World War.
Site in English.

A collection of primary sources on Japan's portion of the Second World War by Duke University.
Site in English.

A record of the experiences and harsh treatment of Prisoners of War captured by the Japanese during the Second World War. Also highlights the dire state of the Japanese manpower pool during this time.
Site in English.

A collection of recourses on War Crimes committed by Japanese forces during the Second World War, provided by the National Archives.
Site in English.

An effort to present the events of the war from the points of view of multiple participants, aiming to present a more complete picture of the war. Brought to you by the Japanese Ministry of Defense.
Site in English.

The Japanese Naval Collection is an onsite archive that features training fleet (練習艦隊) materials from approximately 1900-1940.

Database containing primary and secondary sources on US operations in the Pacific, from individual battles to logistics. (Check the Books and Documents section.)
Site in English.

Documentation of the campaigns of US General Douglas MacArthur during the Second World War, as compiled by his General Staff and published by the Army.
Site in English.

A Collection of Primary Sources on the use of the Atomic Bomb as a means to end the Second World War, curtesy of GWU.
Site in English.

A collection of numerous primary sources documenting the situation and experience of Japanese Americans interned during the Second World War.
Site in English.

Documents and other such primary sources on the internment of Japanese Americans during the Second World War.
Site in English.