Search the library's collections and its online Subject Databases from its General Newspaper Sources, Historical and Retrospective Sources, Primary Source Collections, and specialized resources from GW's Global Resources Center.
Search the library's collections and its online Subject Databases from its Photographic Images and Magazine Collections, like Women's Magazine Archive.
AP Images Collection - A photographic archive of high quality images from the Associated Press news wire covering 1820s to the present. Includes news, entertainment, and fashion photography; maps; timelines; graphics and logos; graphs; AP news stories; and audio clips.
United States Census Bureau Data Resources - Access datasets on socio-economic and demographic topics from the US Census Bureau.
Global News Stream - Full text access to over 2,500 U.S., Canadian and international newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.
Google Magazines - Google Magazines. Google has scanned a number of full-image magazines cover to cover (with original ads) which they make available at no charge. This includes full color images from Life Magazine. Often limited years are available.
Historic Newspapers - Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875; 1881-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Korea Times (1950-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), The New York Times (1857-2019), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950; 1955-1966), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2011), and The Washington Post (1877-2006).
Nexus Uni - Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
Primary Sources Available in GW's Special Collections - Access a diversity of primary sources, including maps, manuscripts, newspapers, diaries, photographs, and pamphlets. The SCRC collects materials related to many areas of research; strengths include University history, Washingtoniana, labor history, and education.
Social Explorer - Access US historic census data, 1790-present with interactive thematic maps, customized reporting, tables, graphs, and charts. No. of concurrent users: 5.
