GEOG: 1003 Hometown Project

Search the library's collections and its online Subject Databases from its Social Sciences, Arts and Humanities, Global Studies, and Business collections. Historic materials may also be found in its Historical and Retrospective, Newspaper and News Sources, and Primary Source collections. 

Additional Supplementary Resources from Reliable External and GW Sources:

Collections and Research from the National Museum of the American Indian

GW's Global Resources Center

GW's Special Collections Resource Center

GW's University Textile Museum and Washingtoniana Collection

US National Archives

Listing of US Historical Societies and Humanities Nonprofit Organizations

Listing of US Military Museums and Archives by State

Listing of US Public and State Libraries and Federal Libraries and Archives

Listing of US State Archives

Local, State, and US Data Resources from GW's Policymap and Simply Analytics Subscriptions

Native American Research Resources from the US National Archives and Library of Congress

Resources from the National Congress of American Indians (NCAI) Policy Research Center

• Search for books and other publications that may be available about your hometown or place of importance. Many communities have recorded their histories with books in public libraries, community archives, or local museums.
• Contact the librarian and archival staff listed on federal, state, and public library and archive websites for support. They might email copies of pages you need!
• Sources about indigenous or native peoples and archeological sites can lead to source about early and pre-colonial settlements and histories. Many native nations, peoples, and governments maintain websites with contact information and historical resources.
  • As examples, Piscataway-Conoy: Rejuvenating ancestral ties to southern parks and Historical resources available from the Wichita and Affiliated Tribes