Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art & Architecture Source This link opens in a new window
Art & Architecture Source includes full text for over 600 journals and 230 books, and includes a collection of over 63,000 images. It supersedes Art Abstracts and Art Index Retrospective. There is strong international coverage.
International Bibliography of Art (IBA) This link opens in a new window
The International Bibliography of Art (IBA) is the definitive resource for scholarly literature on Western art. Now published by ProQuest, IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA). It includes the most recent index records that were created by the Getty Research Institute in 2008-9 as part of BHA, with ProQuest adding 25,000 new records yearly to maintain unbroken coverage. Subjects include fine art in all media; archaeology; museum studies and conservation; and more.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
The complete text of The Oxford Companion to Western Art, Grove Dictionary of Art, Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, with ongoing additions of new material and updates.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
AP Images Collection This link opens in a new window
A photographic archive of high quality images from the Associated Press news wire covering 1820s to the present. Includes news, entertainment, and fashion photography; maps; timelines; graphics and logos; graphs; AP news stories; and audio clips.
Art & Architecture ePortal This link opens in a new window
Searchable ebooks, including monographs and exhibition catalogues, from Yale University Press, Princeton University Press, The MIT Press, Yale University Art Gallery, Art Institute of Chicago, Harvard Art Museum and more.
ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
Abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, dissertations, second exhibition reviews, with many links to full text. Includes artists and movements from late 19th century Impressionism to the present day. Includes photography from its beginnings as well as new and lesser-known artists.
Art Museum Image Gallery This link opens in a new window
High-quality art images from the collections of distinguished museums around the world. Images include paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings, photographs, and decorative arts from around the world and all eras.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Covers the scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities. Full indexing of 1,144 leading arts and humanities journals, and of selected relevant items from over 6,800 major science and social science journals.
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of more than 750,000 images applicable to different times, cultures, and disciplines. Combination of images, data, and texts provides comprehensive art-related teaching, learning, and researching capabilities. Use the Register link to create a free personal account to download and save images. NOTE: Mobile version requires creating a login by registering on ARTstor using a regular workstation first.
AskART This link opens in a new window
Provides biographical and professional data on over 120,000 American artists from the early 16th century through the present. Includes images, artists' biographies, and limited auction records, where available, for valuation and provenance research.
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design, and historic preservation. Citations from scholarly and popular sources from the U.S. and abroad, including professional associations, regional periodicals, and major international journals. Also included are citations to professional obituaries (often the only available sources of biographical information for less-published architects).
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
The Berg Fashion Library provides access to interdisciplinary text, image, and journal content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Includes Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion online, e-books, reference works, and more.
Bibliography of the History of Art (BHA) This link opens in a new window
Bibliography of the History of Art covers European and American art from late antiquity to the present. This database indexes and abstracts art-related books, conference proceedings and dissertations, exhibition and dealer's catalogs, and articles from over 4,000 periodicals. Published from 1975-2007, this database is succeeded by the International Bibliography of Art which covers records from 2008 to the present.
Bridgeman Education This link opens in a new window
A digital library of high-quality art, cultural, and historical images from museums, galleries, and private collections. Covers most aspects of art, archaeology and ethnography, history, science and medicine from prehistoric and ancient times to the present day.
Critical Collective This link opens in a new window
Critical Collective is an initiative by art curator and critic Gayatri Sinha. Critical Collective works towards building knowledge in the arts in India. This website is intended to fill in the lacuna caused by an absence of publishing in the arts, a lack of reprints and a shortage of institutional infrastructure to support knowledge in the domain of the arts.
DAAI: Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
Covers articles, news items, and reviews published in design and applied arts periodicals. Disciplines surveyed include graphic design, fashion and clothing, furniture, interior design, architecture, web design, computer-aided design, garden design, and more.
Early English Books Online (EEBO) This link opens in a new window
EEBO contains over 100,000 books published in English since 1475. Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. Update: Texts continue to be added to the online version as they are scanned from the microfilm.
EEBO TCP (Text Creation Partnership) This link opens in a new window
Contains some searchable and readable editions of Early English Books (texts published in English since 1475). Based on Pollard & Redgrave's "Short Title Catalogue (1475-1640)" and Wing's "Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700)," plus revised editions and supplements. Subjects covered include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, math, and science. For more non-searchable full text of Early English Books, see EEBO.
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
A thematic and iconographic index of early Christian and medieval objects from early apostolic times to 1550 A.D. Includes primarily Christian iconography, although some Jewish, Islamic, and non-ecclesiastical subjects are covered. Entries include descriptive information, provenance, location and ownership, bibliographical references, and a photograph of the work of art when available. The Index is property of Princeton University, and users must credit the index in publications arising from research for which the Index was used. NOTE: In a search results screen, click on an entry number to see its full view.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.
Material ConneXion This link opens in a new window
Provides access to images, detailed material descriptions, usage characteristics, and manufacturer and distributor contact information for over 7,000 materials for use in all design disciplines.
Oxford Bibliographies Online : Art History This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies in Art History offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia.
Pidgeon Digital This link opens in a new window
A collection of recorded talks by historical and contemporary architectural professionals.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism This link opens in a new window
Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism brings together a wealth of interdisciplinary content about the Modernist period, and is the ideal starting point for any research in modernism. With over 1,000 articles from experts in the field, supported by over 100 images, Routledge Encyclopedia of Modernism is a vital tool for students and researchers. The content is fully cross-referenced, allowing for greater discoverability between fields, and covers eight key subject areas: Literature, Architecture, Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Theatre, Film, and Intellectual Currents. Researchers can browse by subject, movement, or place in order to discover connections between key topics and fields.
Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) This link opens in a new window
The Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) is a research center at the University of California, Irvine. Founded in 1972, the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present. Includes digital versions of Greek texts, searchable in Greek, with links to English translations where available. ***Please note that the new
system requires each user to create a user profile.***
Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
The Vogue Archive contains the entire run of Vogue magazine (US edition) from 1892 to the present day, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. More than 400,000 pages are included, constituting a treasure trove of the work from the greatest designers, photographers, stylists, and illustrators of the twentieth and twenty-first centuries. Vogue is a unique record of American and international popular culture that extends beyond fashion.
Women's Wear Daily Archive This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive backfile of Women’s Wear Daily from its inception in 1910 forward, this database provides a wealth of information to researchers and students of fashion, marketing, and the retail business as well as supporting inquiry into women’s studies and 20th century material culture.
Ask a Librarian