Research Guides: Forensic Sciences: Find Journal Articles

Journal Article Databases

HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline consists of four major library collections that are image based and fully searchable: the Law Journal Library, Federal Register Library, Treaties and Agreements Library, and U.S. Supreme Court Library.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service Abstracts Database (NCJRS) This link opens in a new window
Covers reports, articles, and audiovisual products from the United States and around the world. These resources include statistics, research findings, program descriptions, congressional hearing transcripts, and training materials. SEE also Criminology Collection (ProQuest).
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.
PsycINFO 1887-Current This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, dissertations and technical reports in the field of psychology. Includes information about the psychological aspects of related disciplines.
SciFinderN This link opens in a new window
Provides access to published chemical research by author name, research topic, substance identifier, chemical structure, or chemical reaction
Royal Society of Chemistry Online Journals This link opens in a new window
Access to journals published by the Royal Society of Chemistry.
Web of Science (WOS) This link opens in a new window
Includes several citation indices covering sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Search by a specific index, or across all indices. Citations to articles in more than 8,000 major research journals. Also permits cited reference searching (searching for articles that cite a particular author or work).

Major Journals

Journal of Forensic Sciences
Paper: Vol. 4 (1959)-Present
Online: Vol. 17 (1972)-Present
Other: Jacob Burns Law Library, SL1: K10 .O26, 1956-Present

Forensic Science International (formerly Forensic Science and Journal of Forensic Medicine)
Paper: Vol. 2-55 (1973-92), 59 (1992)-Present
Online: Vol. 70 (1995)-Present
Other: Jacob Burns Law Library, SL1: K6 .O77, 1989-Present

Journal of Forensic Identification
Paper: Vol. 47 (1997)-Present
Electronic: 1998-Present online. Also, Issues for 1933-2003 available full text in pdf format in The Gelman Library - ask at the Reference Desk

AFTE Journal (AFTE=Association of Firearm and Toolmark Examiners)
Paper: Vol. 17-20 (1985-88), 33 (2001)-Present
Other: Library of Congress, 1980-Present

Science & Justice
Paper: Vol. 1-34 (1960-94), 36 (1996), 37 (1997)-Present
Online: Vol. 35 (1995)-Present

American Journal of Forensic Medicine and Pathology
Paper: Vol. 1-9 (1980-88), 23 (2002)-Present
Online: Vol. 17 (1996) -Present
Other: Jacob Burns Law Library, SL1:K1 .M447, 1980-Present

International Journal of Legal Medicine
Paper: Vol. 86-97 (1980-86), 114 (2000/01) -Present
Online: Vol. 110 (1997)-Present

Canadian Society of Forensic Science Journal
Paper: Vol. 34 (2001)-Present
Other: Jacob Burns Law Library, LL2: RA1057 .J68, 1983-Present

Medicine, Science, and the Law
Other: Jacob Burns Law Library SL1: K13 .E37

Forensic Science Communications
Forensic Science Communications (FSC, ISSN 1528-8005) is a peer-reviewed forensic science journal published quarterly in January, April, July, and October by FBI Laboratory personnel.

Forensic Sciences

Medicine / Biology

Security Management

Journal Article Databases

Major Journals