Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian
George Washington University
Search this Guide
Resources related to American Literature from the Colonial period to the present.
20th C. through present
Gelman Library, Rm 551
The George Washington University
Schedule a research appointment
Find literary studies scholarship for all periods and genres
MLA International Bibliography
Covers journal articles. books, chapters in edited collections, and dissertations in all fields of literary study. The premier database for research on literature and cultural studies.
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
Edited collection of scholarly essays on key authors and topics.
America: History & Life
Covers journals articles on the history and culture of the US and Canada. Users can search for articles *about* particular time periods (using the advanced search).
Gender Studies Database
Scholarship on gender and sexuality, including sources from inside and outside the academy.
Black Studies Center
Includes The Chicago Defender, 1909-1975 (African American newspaper); International Index to Black Periodicals, 1902 onward; and Schomburg Studies on the Black Experience (topical overviews by leading Black Studies scholars).
Online reference tools
Oxford English Dictionary
The definitive dictionary of the English language.
American National Biography Online
Full-text biographical articles for more than 18,300 men and women from all eras and walks of life.
Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory & Criticism
A comprehensive historical survey of the field's most important figures, schools, and movements, updated annually.
Aug 11, 2017 1:48 PM
Login to LibApps
• 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052