Identify: Find the specific collection and take note of the series number, box number, and folder number for items of potential relevance to your research.
Request: Email email@example.com to order boxes or books. Most of the collections are housed off site and take 3-5 business days to be delivered. Build in this time to your project timeline.
Use: Once your materials arrive we will contact you at which point you can access the boxes and/or books for use in the Special Collections reading room. See our hours and other information about using materials here. Bring a camera and take photos when you're on site. Remember to take thorough notes to inform proper citation of materials.
Contact us at any time! We are here to answer questions and help point you to relevant materials at any stage of your research.
University Archives: Highlighted collections of potential interest for this course
Here you will find essays, lists and timelines designed to share highlights and summaries from GW's nearly-200-year history for your quick reference. This includes information about GW's founding and location, as well as brief histories of some of the past and present schools and divisions that make up GW.
Dr. Cloyd Heck Marvin was president of the University of Arizona between 1922 and 1927, and of the George Washington University from 1927 to 1959. This is a biography of his controversial tenure at both institutions. Includes a history of GWU during World War II, as well as the desegregation of the University.
This collection features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Published in 26 states, the publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, organizations bulletins, annual reports and other genres.
Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.
Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlantic Constitution (1868-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1993), Korea Times (1956-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1993), The New York Times (1851-2013), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002), and The Washington Post (1877-2000).
America: History & Life with Full Text offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Includes selective indexing for 1,700 journals from 1955 to present, as well as full-text coverage of more than 200 journals and nearly 100 books.
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
Google Scholar indexes scholarly publications in a variety of fields. To get links from Google Scholar to GW Libraries full text, even when off campus, go to Google Scholar > Settings > Library Links and add us.
Back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including African-American studies, anthropology, Asian studies, classics, ecology, economics, education, finance, history, literature, mathematics, philosophy, political science, population studies, sociology, and statistics. Includes free Early-Journal Content, journals published before 1923 in the U.S. and before 1870 outside of the U.S.