Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chinese Studies - Digital/Electronic Sources: Women/Gender Studies

This research guide helps you to find resources related to China studies including China's foreign relations, history, politics, military, economy, culture, language, religion and etc.

Databases

Chinese Women’s Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republic Period (晚清、民国初期的中国妇女杂志)
This database contains four seminal women's or gendered journals-a key genre of the new media-published between 1904 and 1937.
They include Nüzi shijie (Women's World, 1904-07), Funü shibao (The Women's Eastern Times, 1911-17), Funü zazhi (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31), and Linglong (Elegance, 1931-37).

近代妇女期刊数据库 by Academia Sinica
More than 200 kinds of periodicals on women, this database provides an important platform for women history, business history and periodical history of modern China.

妇女期刊作者研究平台 @ Academia Sinica 

This database provides personal information, biological experiences and social network of the authors from 近代妇女期刊数据库, which will be used for the research for social networking and biography. 

Ling long women's magazine (《玲珑》) @ Columbia 

Ling long women's magazine was popular at a time of dramatic social change in Republican China. In its short run from 1931 to 1937, it was disproportionately influential. Decades later, it offers a uniquely intimate view of the lives of women in the 1930s in Shanghai, a city at the forefront of social and political change. The articles, photographs, even the advertisements, bring to life a vibrant and intriguing society in a fast-changing world.

 

Free Digital Collections on Women Studies

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu