Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Chinese Texts 中文典籍
The Chinese Text Project is an online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available to readers and researchers all around the world. The site attempts to make use of the digital medium to explore new ways of interacting with these texts that are not possible in print. With over thirty thousand titles and more than five billion characters, the Chinese Text Project is also the largest database of pre-modern Chinese texts in existence.
Scripta Sinica (Chinese Texts at Academia Sinica) 汉籍电子全文数据库
Full text searchable database including access to the "Thirteen Classics" and all 24 Chinese dynastic histories. Click the button that reads "免費使用" to access. Then click 經 to select one of the classics or 史 to select one of the dynastic histories.
Hanquan (Cold Spring) Open Source Digital Collection台湾师大【寒泉】古典文献全文检索资料库
Rare Chinese Books Database 东京大学东洋文化研究所所藏汉籍善本全文影像资料库
Full-text, on-line database provided by the Institute of Oriental Culture at the University of Tokyo. It contains 4,019 titles, including a large number of rare books from the late imperial period, such as Ming and Qing novels, dramatic works, classics, and legal treatises. All texts are searchable by title and can be read on-line or downloaded as full text images.
- Ling long women's magazine @ Columbia
Ling long women's magazine was popular at a time of dramatic social change in Republican China. In its short run from 1931 to 1937, it was disproportionately influential. Decades later, it offers a uniquely intimate view of the lives of women in the 1930s in Shanghai, a city at the forefront of social and political change. The articles, photographs, even the advertisements, bring to life a vibrant and intriguing society in a fast-changing world.
- Chinese Women’s Magazines in the Late Qing and Early Republic Period （晚清、民国初期的中国妇女杂志）
This database contains four seminal women's or gendered journals-a key genre of the new media-published between 1904 and 1937. They include shijie (Women's World, 1904-07), Funü shibao (The Women's Eastern Times, 1911-17), Funü zazhi (The Ladies' Journal, 1915-31), and Linglong (Elegance, 1931-37).