Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Services & Social Justice

This guide highlights library resources helpful for students in the Human Services & Social Justice Program.

Primary sources related to Human Services at Gelman Library

Washingtoniana
Capitalizing on Washington, DC’s diverse communities and its role as the nation’s capital, the Washingtoniana Collection of the GW Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) documents the city’s political, economic, social, and cultural history.  Topic areas of particular interest may include "African Americans," "Community Activism," or "Gay and Lesbian (LGBT)."

Lester Frank Ward Papers
Lester Frank Ward (1841-1913) has been described by some as the father of American sociology. His contributions to sociology are almost forgotten today, but at one time he was considered to be one of America's leading intellectuals. The collection consists of diaries, correspondence, photographs, a scrapbook, and sixty-nine articles written by Lester Frank Ward. The materials range in date from 1883 to 1919.

National Education Association Archives
Founded in 1922, the Research Division of the National Education association was founded to serve as a clearinghouse for research activities, and was responsible for gathering information and formulating reports about current and future problems in education.  

 

Contact Information

Special Collections Research Center
Melvin Gelman Library
2130 H St., NW, Suite 704
Washington, DC 20052
(202) 994-7549
Hours: Monday-Friday, 10 AM - 5 PM

 

For manuscripts and collections inquiries: speccoll@gwu.edu

For University Archives inquiries:  archives@gwu.edu

Beyond Gelman Library

Check out ArchiveGrid, a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information about their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu