Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Human Services & Social Justice

This guide highlights library resources helpful for students in the Human Services & Social Justice Program.

Additional Reference Sources

ACA Encyclopedia of Counseling   Alexandria, VA:  American Counseling Association
A reference book for students, educators, researchers, and practitioners seeking to refresh or quickly update their knowledge of the most important topics in counseling; more than 400 entries. 

Blackwell Encyclopedia of Sociology  Malden, MA: Blackwell Pub, c2007
​Over 1,800 entries.  Provides definitions and explanations of the key concepts written by leading scholars in the field.  

Encyclopedia of Activism and Social Justice   Thousand Oaks, Calif.; London: SAGE, c2007
​Designed to give understanding to the topics, concepts and ideas that have motivated and shaped the fields of activism, civil engagement and social justice.

Encyclopedia of Elder Care: the comprehensive resource on geriatric and social care  New York, NY: Springer Pub., c2007
​Features nearly 300 articles written by experts in the field.  Multidisciplinary by nature, all aspects of clinical care of the elderly are addressed.

Encyclopedia of Social Work  New York; Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2008
Contains 400 articles covering all aspects of social work from practice/interventions, social environments, social conditions and challenges to social policy and history.   

International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences  Amsterdam: Elsevier, [2015]
This 26-volume edition features more than 3,900 chapters covering all areas of the social and behavioral sciences; offers a broad, interdisciplinary approach.

Sage Encyclopedia of Social Science Research Methods   Thousand Oaks, Calif.: Sage, [2004]
Covers inclusively both quantitative and qualitative research approaches; provides clear explanations of 1,000 methodologies.

Sexual Violence and Abuse: an encyclopedia of prevention, impacts, and recovery   Santa Barbara, Calif.: ABC-CLIO, c2013
​Useful to students, researchers, and academics interested in methods of effective prevention of sexual abuse, as well as intervention techniques.

 

 

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu