Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

American Studies

This guide highlights article databases, primary source databases, encyclopedias, and other resources useful for research in American Studies.

Resources for finding background information on American Studies topics

American Decades.  Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1994-2001.
Also in hardcopy: GELMAN Ref E169.12 .A419 1994
A ten-volume set providing cross-disciplinary coverage of events of the 20th century.  Particularly good for social history.  Click on "Advanced Search" to refine your search.

Encyclopedia of American Social History.  3v.   New York : Scribner, c1993.
Location:  GELMAN Ref HN 57 .E58 1993 
Contains 180 essays on 14 broad topics in American social history; topics include, for example, Work and Labor, Popular Culture and Recreation, and Social Control and Social Protest.

Encyclopedia of American Studies.  4 v.  New York : Grolier Educational, c2001.
Location: REF E 169.1 .E625 2001
Provides sizable entries covering a broad range of topics in American culture. 

Encyclopedia of American Studies.
Published by Johns Hopkins University Press with the sponsorship of the American Studies Association (ASA), the Encyclopedia of American Studies covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present.

Encyclopedia of Contemporary American Culture.   London: Routledge, 2001
Gives both overviews and specific information regarding the major issues and experiences in contemporary American culture.

Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America.  4 v.  Westport, Conn.: Greenwood Press, 2009
Location: GELMAN Ref E169.1 .G7553 2009
This work is organized first by volume chronologically, and then thematically. 

Greenwood Guide to American Popular Culture.  4 v.  Westport, Conn.:  Greenwood Press, 2002
Location: REF E 169.1 .G7555 2002
Provides authoritative, introductory essays on major aspects of American popular culture.

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu