Crisis, Disaster, and Risk Management

NEMA is an organization of state-level emergency management officials. The NEMA online library provides full-text access to documents and presentations from NEMA committees. This site also includes information on NEMA membership, conferences, job listings and a directory of Emergency Management contacts by state.

IAEM is an association of local (city and county) emergency management officials. This site provides information on IAEM activities and membership. Selected issues of the newsletter are available online, as well as a bulletin board and discussion list.

From the NGA homepage, visit the Site Index and scroll to the Homeland Security and Technology Division. This will lead to sections on Bioterrorism, Emergency Management, and Homeland Security. Within these sections are links to several substantial, full-text publications, including a 2 volume Governor's Guide to Emergency Management, Domestic Preparedness Checklist, and presentations from the NGA Bioterrorism Summit.

This office is responsible for coordinating Federal health, medical, and health related social services and recovery to major emergencies and Federally declared disasters including natural disasters, technological disasters, major transportation accidents, and terrorism. This site includes information on the office's Counter Terrorism Program, the National Disaster Medical System (NDMS), and the Metropolitan Medical Response System (MMRS)

This extensive site includes health standards and statistics, fact sheets on health information and disease prevention, and health-related news stories. Brochures, software, and other publications are available for download and by order from CDC.

This site features many news and information sources on toxic substances. Highlighights include ToxFAQs, a series of summaries about hazardous substances, HazDat, the database that provides information on the release of hazardous substances from Superfund sites and from emergency events, and Minimal Risk Levels (MRLs) for hazardous substances. "Science Corner" is a gateway to environmental health information and resources on the Web.

Location: RC451.4.D57 M947 2005
From the Department of Social Work at Walter Reed Army Medical Center, this guidebook is an introduction to the field of disaster mental health (DMH) for clinicians and administrators. Adobe Acrobat is required to view many sections of the book.