Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

International Relations Guide

Primary Sources FAQ

How do I find resources in the Special Collections Research Center?

  • Check the Aladin Catalog for your topic (if it's here the location will be Special Collections).
  • Check out our website with links to primary materials for various subjects.
  • Or better yet, make an appointment and speak with a librarian in Special Collections at (202) 994-7459 or speccoll@gwu.edu

Why should I use primary sources?

  • Rewarding: Original documents often evoke a sense of time and place.
  • Scholarship: Primary sources are the raw data of history; working with them allows you to draw your own conclusions and contribute to original scholarship.

Primary Sources on International Relations

Carnegie Endowment for International Peace Pamphlet and Microfilm Collection, 1817-1950
This collection consists of over 7,200 items of bound pamphlets, unbound pamphlets, and microfilm. They range in date from 1817 to 1950. The topics cover world wars, international treaties and other important world events.

Elliott School of International Affairs Records, 1907-2005
Materials in this collection include publications, videocassettes, annual reports, by-laws, reports, meeting minutes, and appointment books. The material covers the dates 1907-2005. Subjects covered in the collection include inauguration activities, Soviet Film Festival, publications, administrative files, conferences, faculty reports and meetings, graduate assistants, committee records, work study programs, and dean's appointment books (1964-1993).

ArchiveGrid

ArchiveGrid is a database where thousands of museums, libraries, and archives have contributed information abou their collections, including catalog records and/or finding aids.  Researchers searching ArchiveGrid can learn about the many items in each of these collections, contact archives to arrange a visit to examine materials, and order copies.

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu