Primary Sources: Digital and Physical Archives and Manuscript Collections

Full text access to over 2,500 U.S., Canadian and international newspapers, newswires, news journals, television and radio transcripts, blogs, podcasts, and digital-only websites.

Search all historical newspapers from ProQuest: The Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875; 1881-1984), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-1988), Baltimore Sun (1837-1991), Chicago Defender (1909-1975), Chicago Tribune (1849-1998), Korea Times (1950-2016), Los Angeles Times (1881-1999), The New York Times (1857-2019), The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962), Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950; 1955-1966), The Wall Street Journal (1889-2012), and The Washington Post (1877-2007).

Formerly LexisNexis Academic. Access to major newspapers from around the world, as well as: industry and market news; company financial information; general medical topics; accounting, auditing, and tax information; legal news, law reviews, and case law; and the U.S. and state codes. Please use Google Chrome or IE browsers with this database.

Full text access to over 500 U.S. newspapers, including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune, as well as wires, broadcast transcripts, blogs, and news sites in full-text format.

Provides access to approximately 1.7 million pages of primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers from a range of urban and rural regions throughout the U.S. The collection encompasses the entire 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life among other subjects.

The database provides access to over 528 million current and archived articles from thousands of global and U.S. news sources, most only available through this resources. Each source provides unique coverage of local and regional news, including companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in the community, as well as a distinctive focus offering a variety of viewpoints on local and world issues. Paid ads are excluded. Search interface includes a world map.

Provides access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. The collection features papers from more than 35 states and was in part created from the most extensive African American newspaper archives in the U.S.

This database provides full-text access to articles from a number of historic African American newspapers, beginning in 1827 with Freedom's Journal. The collection contains a wealth of information about cultural life and history during the 1800s and offers first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day.

This resource features 64 fully searchable newspapers published in Africa before 1900 and originally archived by the British Library. Students and researchers will find news and analysis covering the European exploration of Africa, colonial exploitation, economics, Atlantic trade, the mapping of the continent, early moves towards self-governance, the growth of South Africa and much more. This database along with Readex sister databases African Newspapers, Series 1 and 2 can be searched concurrently via a single interface for access to nearly every newspaper published on the African continent in the 19th and early 20th centuries.

This resource features over 60 searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries. Content includes English and foreign-language titles from Angola, Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sao Tome and Principe, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. This database along with Readex sister databases African Newspapers, British Library Collection can be searched concurrently via a single interface for access to nearly every newspaper published on the African continent in the 19th and early 20th centuries. See: Africa's Historical Newspapers

Al-Ahram (الأهرام‎, “The Pyramids”), from 1875 to 2014. Later years will be added as they become available. The title is regarded as Egypt’s most influential newspaper, and one of the most important newspapers in the Arab world. Prior to 1960, the newspaper was an independent publication. Since 1960, Al-Ahram has been the de facto voice of the Egyptian government, today managed by the Supreme Council of Press. Al-Ahram has featured writings by some of the most important political and literary voices of the day.

This resource opens research into a range of subjects from an indigenous perspective. It has been developed with the permission and contribution of the newspaper publishers and Tribal Councils concerned. It presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, including Alaska, Arizona, British Columbia, California, Nevada and Oklahoma, from 1828 to 2016, with a strong concentration from 1970 forward.

A photographic archive of high quality images from the Associated Press news wire covering 1820s to the present. Includes news, entertainment, and fashion photography; maps; timelines; graphics and logos; graphs; AP news stories; and audio clips.

Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.

As the major daily newspaper in the Atlanta area, The Atlanta Constitution (1869-1875; 1881-1984), provides insight into the political, economic, cultural, and social life of the southeastern United States from Reconstruction through the late 20th century. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text.

The Baltimore Afro-American (Historical), a prominent, historic African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991) provides unprecedented access to news from this major port city. The database offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue.

British Library Newspapers, Pts. I & II, offer full runs of national, regional, and local nineteenth-century British newspapers, taken directly from the extensive holdings of the British Library. The papers provide a broad, yet detailed view of British life in the nineteenth century; from business to sport, from politics to entertainment and the arts. The two collections together cover 69 titles.

Full text of over 190 Canadian newspapers, including The Globe and Mail and Toronto Star, along with newswires and broadcast transcripts.

This database is the largest online collection of 18th- and 19th-century newspapers published in the Caribbean. Featuring over 140 newspapers from 22 islands, this unique resource is a comprehensive primary resource for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century. The database chronicles the region’s evolution across two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other news items.

The Historical Chicago Defender (1909-1975), an influential, historical African American newspaper, offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Proquest collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

The Chicago Tribune Historical (1849-1998) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The Collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every issue through 1998.

With an archive beginning in 2000, this database collects full-text articles from more than 350 core newspapers in China. GW's subscription includes the following subject areas: Literature/History/Philosophy, Politics/Military Affairs/Law, Education & Social Sciences, Economics & Management. IE browser is recommended.

Full-text, keyword searchable PDF's of this major Korean newspaper from 1920 to the present

The Current Digest of the Russian Press (formerly Current Digest of the Soviet Press and Post-Soviet Press) was founded in 1949. Each week it presents a selection of Russian-language press materials, carefully translated into English. The translations are intended for use in teaching and research. They are therefore presented as documentary materials without elaboration or comment, and state the opinions and views of the original authors, not of the publisher of the journal.

Full-text, keyword searchable PDF's of this major Korean newspaper from 1920 to the present

This database features images and full-text from newspapers across the country. While assembling the original collection, Readex focused its publishing efforts on Clarence Brigham's History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820, concentrating primarily on those papers that began publication before 1820.

Cover to cover digital archive of The Economist from its founding in 1843 through 2015. Key indicator tables are downloadable into spreadsheet applications post-1983 forward.

Ethnic NewsWatch is a current resource of full-text newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic and minority press, providing researchers access to essential, often overlooked perspectives. The database now also contains Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which provides historical coverage of Native American, African American, and Hispanic American periodicals from 1959-1989.

Source for global news, and business, financial, and company information, providing access to thousands of newspapers and other publications. Stock quotes are also available. Simultaneous users: 6

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) was a United States government operation which translated the text of daily broadcasts, government statements, and select news stories from non-English sources. Succeeded by World News Connection after 1996; scope of coverage may be significantly different.

Access to global newswire content that may not be captured by traditional print or online sources.

Withcoverage from1832 to 1953, the 12 English-languageChinese historical newspapers that comprise the database provide researchers unique insight into Chinese political and social life during this turbulent 120 year period.

This database compiles news about corporate and government intelligence in France, Europe, the United States, the Middle East and Asia.

Current and archival content from over 800 of the world's top news sources such as The Times (London), The Bangkok Post, El Norte, Financial Times, The Guardian, Jerusalem Post, South China Morning Post, The Daily Telegraph, Asian Wall Street Journal, and the BBC Monitoring series.

Searchable full-image archive of this English-language newspaper published in Japan from its inception in 1897 through 2020.

Kikuzo II Visual (朝日新聞オンライン記事データべース) is one of the largest newspaper article databases in Japan, with over eight million articles from over 130 years of the Asahi Shimbun newspaper. The database also includes Who's Who and Historical Photo Archives.

One of the oldest English-language newspaper in Korea, with coverage back to the 1950s. The Korea Times is known for its coverage of international business, economic and financial news. It also provides a window into historical and modern politics, society, economy, and culture in Korea and is a good source for researching local, regional and international news from the Korean perspective.

Full text database available for major journals and newspapers published in North Korea. KPM database includes the English edition of the Pyongyang Times, and the PDF version of Rodong Sinmun, Minju Choson, Munhak Sinmun includes color photos. Searchable by keywords, and browsable by subject areas or journal/newspaper titles.  Available both in Korean & Japanese.

Latin American Newspapers offer significant coverage of the people, issues and events that shaped this vital region during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Featuring titles from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and a dozen other countries, these resources provide a wide range of viewpoints from diverse Latin American cultures. The newspapers chronicle the evolution of Latin America over two centuries through eyewitness reporting, editorials, legislative information, letters, poetry, advertisements, obituaries and other items.

This database has been replaced by Nexis Uni.

Provides full-text articles from "The Lily, A ladies' journal devoted to temperance and literature," issued from 1849 until 1853. The newspaper began as a temperance journal, but gradually began to include articles about other subjects of interest to women, many from the pen of social activist Elizabeth Cady Stanton (pseudonym: "sunflower").

The Los Angeles Times Historical (1881-1999) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Provides access to 6 million articles from the Mainich Shimbun and precursor titles from 1872

This historical archive of Miami’s oldest surviving newspaper, known today as The Miami Herald, provides an unmatched record of daily life in South Florida. Additionally, this newspaper has a strong reputation for its international reporting from the Caribbean and Latin America.

Mideastwire.com offers a daily email newsletter of concise, translated briefs covering some of the key political, cultural, economic and opinion pieces appearing via the print, radio and television media of the 22 Arab countries, Iran, and the Arab Diaspora.

This database includes more than 200 Chinese newspapers that were published from 1840 to 1949 at both national and local levels. The national level newspapers are such as 《新华日报》《东南日报》《京报》《晨报》，and the local newspaper are like 《北京益世报》《东北时报》《湖南妇女报》《青岛时报》. 

This publication was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society, an abolitionist society founded by William Lloyd Garrison and Arthur Tappan. The newspaper contained essays, debates, speeches, events, reports and anything else deemed newsworthy in relation to the question of slavery in the United States and other parts of the world. Covers years 1840-1870.

A collection of resources on US politics and policy, including The National Journal, The Hotline, The National Journal Daily (formerly CongressDaily), The Almanac of American Politics, Daybook and more.

Use this link to create your account, then log in at nytimes.com or on the app. Users also have access to the NYT Audio app (iOS only), but not the Cooking or Games apps. For more information see the digital news subscription page.

Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.

The New York Tribune / Herald Tribune (1841-1962) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.

Major database from Japan focusing on business and economics. Some titles available from 1876. Content in Japanese from a wide variety of national, local and technical newspapers, statistical and corporate sources. Content in English is from major Nikkei publications and national newspapers (Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi) as well as from major newspapers in Singapore (The Straits Times, The Business Times), Malaysia (New Straits Times, Business Times Malaysia, Bernama News), Indonesia (The Jakarta Post, Antara News), Vietnam (Viet Nam News), Thailand (Bangkok Post), Mongolia (Montsame Daily News), Taiwan (Want China Times, Focus Taiwan), China (People’s Daily Online) and Korea (Maeil Business Newspaper, Korea JoongAng Daily) among others.

The North China Herald was a major English-language newspaper published in China from the 1850s to the 1940s. It is a major source for the history of the foreign presence in China in that period. It was the official journal for British consular notifications and announcements of the Shanghai Municipal Council, and published translations of Chinese official notifications and news from across China.

News, opinion and analysis, research tools, and primary and secondary data from and about the politics, military, society and culture of North Korea. Sections include: News, Intelligence, KCNA Watch, Analysis & Opinion, Investigation, Tools & Data, Real Life, Travel, Ask a North Korean.

Please use Nikkei Telecom21 for Okinawa Times materials.

Digital archive to the official newspaper of the People’s Republic of China’s Central Military Commission. The publication acts as the authoritative media of the Chinese People’s Liberation Army for the release of military news and comprehensive military-related information. Dates of coverage January 1, 1956 to present; updated annually.

The Pittsburgh Courier was the most widely circulated black newspaper in the U.S. in the early 20th century. It challenged the representation of African Americans in the national media and advocated social reforms in the cause of civil rights. Offers full page and article images with searchable full text.

A complete archive extending back to 1912 of Pravda, official newspaper of the Communist Party of Russia/the USSR. Issues are displayed as full-page images.

Full-text, full image of Renmin Ribao (????, Peoples Daily), the official organ of the Central Committee of the Communist Party of China, and the central newspaper of record for the modern Chinese state. The database features full page-level digitization, complete original graphics, and 100% searchable text. The interface is in Simplified Chinese and content before 1955 is in Traditional Chinese. Coverage: 1946-5/2012.

The Shen Bao (申报, also spelled Shunpao) database is full-text searchable and contains PDF page images of this newspaper published from 1872 to 1949. This database, containing more than 2 million articles, works best on Internet Explorer.

The Times of London has covered all major international events from the French Revolution to the Falklands War. "The Times Digital Archive, 1785-2011" makes 200 years of this highly regarded resource available for students and researchers of 19th and 20th century history.

Catalog of materials in the Television News Archive at Vanderbilt University, which contains network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks (ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN), as well as special news-related programming (including ABC’s Nightline). Streaming online video is available for CNN news broadcasts from 1999. VHS copies of other broadcasts are available for loan, for a fee.

Published weekly in Williamsburg, Virginia between 1736 and 1780, The Virginia Gazette contained news covering all of Virginia and also included information from other colonies, Scotland, England and additional countries. The paper appeared in three competing versions from a succession of publishers over the years, some published concurrently, and all under the same title.

Use this link to create your account, then log in at wsj.com or on the app. For more information see the digital news subscription page.

The financial newspaper of record offering in-depth coverage of national and international finance as well as current events.

This database provides a searchable facsimile of every page of every issue of the Washington Evening Star from its founding on December 16, 1852 to the day it ceased publishing on August 7, 1981. Considered the “paper of record” for national political coverage, the Star was one of the highest profile publications in the nation. The paper covers nearly 130 years of American history, offering significant new research opportunities from the Antebellum Period to World War I to the Post-Vietnam Era.

Full access to the current web edition of the Washington Post. Access is via this link only; individual logins are not supported at present. For more information see the digital news subscription page.

Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issuecover to coverin downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.

Offers translated and English language news and information compiled from non-United States media sources. Coverage includes political, environmental, scientific, technical, and socioeconomic issues and events. Coverage: 1995-2013. Continued "Foreign Broadcast Information Service Daily Reports," published in print from approx. 1944-1996.

Full-text of the Yomiuri Shimbun from 1874 to present, the Daily Yomiuri & its English equivalent, and a biographical dictionary of modern Japanese figures. Full-text searching is available from Sept. 1986 to present. NOTE: for off-campus access, log into the GW VPN.