Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: World

This guide is meant to serve as an introduction to print and online resources useful for research in aspects of world history.

Encyclopedias : General

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History   5v.  Great Barrington, Mass., U.S.A. : Berkshire Pub. Group, c2005
Location: REF D28 B45 2005  2nd Floor
"A comprehensive encyclopedia of world history with 538 articles that trace the development of human history "

A Dictionary of World History   [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2006, c2007.
Online.  Contains over 4,700 entries covering 4,000 years of history and historical figures.

A Dictionary of Contemporary World History   Oxford : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Online.  Provides "...informative and analytical entries on the most important people, organizations and events that have shaped our history from 1900 to the present day."

Encyclopedia of World History    New York : Facts On File, c2000
Location: D21 .E577 2000

Encyclopedias : Regional

Encyclopedia of African History  3v.  New York : Fitzroy Dearborn, 2005
Location: REF  DT20 .E53 2005  2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of China: The Essential Reference to China, Its History and Culture  New York : Facts on File, c1999
GELMAN Global Resources Center, RM 708 Reference / DS705 .P47 1999

Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1350 - 2000  6v.   Detroit : Charles Scribner's Sons, c2001
Location: REF HN373 .E63 2001  2nd Floor

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture   6v.  Detroit : Charles Scribner's Sons, 2008
Online.  Provides a comprehensive, multidisciplinary view of Latin American history and culture from prehistoric times to the present.

Encyclopedia of Russian History  4v.  New York : Macmillan Reference, c2004
Locaton: Gelman Global Resources Center, Rm 708 Ready Ref  / DK14 .E53 2004

Europe 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World   New York : Charles Scribner's Sons, c2004
Location: REF D209 .E97 2004  2nd Floor

Europe Since 1945: An Encyclopedia   New York : Garland, 2001.
Location: REF D1058 .E8754 2001  2nd Floor

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu