Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History: World

This guide is meant to serve as an introduction to print and online resources useful for research in aspects of world history.

Find Scholarly Articles

GW Libraries Search

Search for Books

Find Background Information

Encyclopedia of World History    New York : Facts On File, c2000
Location: D21 .E577 2000  

Dictionary of Contemporary World History   New York: Oxford University Press, 2016
Provides information about political, diplomatic, and military people and events in the history of the world from 1900 through the early twenty-first century.

Dictionary of World History   [Oxford] : Oxford University Press, 2006, c2007
Online.  Contains over 4,700 entries covering 4,000 years of history and historical figures.

Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History   5v.  Great Barrington, Mass., U.S.A. : Berkshire Pub. Group, c2005
Location: REF D28 B45 2005  2nd Floor
"A comprehensive encyclopedia of world history with 538 articles that trace the development of human history. "

Oxford Reference Online
Online.  The home of Oxford’s reference publishing, brings together over 2 million entries into a single cross-searchable resource.

Check the "Find Background Information" page to the left for additional resources.

 
GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu