Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British History

This guide covers article databases, encyclopedias, biorgraphical sources, and other resources useful for research in British history.

Links to external web resources

British History Online
Contains some of the core printed primary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.  Created by the Institute of Historical Research and the History of Parliament Trust.

British Movietone
British Movietone is "...arguably the world's greatest newsreel archive, spanning the period 1895 to 1986." (from the website)

EuroDocs: History of the United Kingdom: Primary Documents
A directory to websites providing full-text, primary documents in British history from antiquity to the present.

IBIS Links
"The web's premier clearinghouse for electronic resources in British and Irish Studies."  From the Institute of British and Irish Studies, University of Southern California.

The National Archives   (United Kingdom)
"1000 years of UK government information, from parchment to websites."   Some of the material in the Archives is digitized and accessible electronically; to determinie which, see the FAQs page, "What Records are Available Online?" .

Victorian Web
This website concentrates on British literature, history, and culture during the age of Victoria.

Voice of the Shuttle: History
Under "U.K." on this page, find links to a variety of websites related to British history; links are organized chronologically by historical period.
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu