Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

British History

This guide covers article databases, encyclopedias, biorgraphical sources, and other resources useful for research in British history.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more

Europe: 1450 to 1789: Encyclopedia of the Early Modern World   6 vols.  New York: Charles Scribner's Sons, c2004
Location: Ref D209 ,E97 2004 2nd Floor
Coverage of this 6-volume work includes England as part of broader European culture. 

Historical Dictionary of the United Kingdom   2 vol.  Lanham, Md.: Scarecrow Press, 1997-1998
Location: Ref DA34 .P36 1997 2nd Floor
Short entries cover the issues, people, and events of historical significance of England and the U.K. (Vol. I) and Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales (Vol. II).

Medieval England: An Encyclopedia   New York: Garland Pub., 1998
Location: Ref DA129 .M43 1998 2nd Floor
Entries cover the society and culture of England from the 5th C. to the end of the 16th C.

Reader's Guide to British History   New York: Fitzroy Dearborn, 2003
Location: Ref DA34 .R43 2003 2nd Floor
The main purpose of this reference work is historiographical; entries guide the reader to the most informative secondary scholarship.

Twentieth-Century Britain: An Encyclopedia   New York: Garland Pub., 1995
Location: DA566 .T835 1995
Includes topics in cultural and social history. 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu