Research Guides: Film Studies: Find Reviews

What's on this Page

Film Reviews

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This academic multi-disciplinary database provides than 8,500 full-text periodicals, including more than 7,300 peer-reviewed journals. In addition, it offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals and a total of more than 13,200 publications including monographs, reports, conference proceedings, etc. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1887.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A database covering the entire spectrum of television and film writing, designed for diverse users including film scholars, college students, and general viewers. Subject coverage includes film and television theory, preservation and restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews. The database provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 380 publications (and selected coverage of 300), as well as full text for more than 120 journals, and 100 books. It also includes Variety movie reviews from 1914 to the present and over 36,300 images from the MPTV Image Archive.
ProQuest Research Library Plus This link opens in a new window
Covers a wide range of subject matter in both popular and scholarly periodicals. Also includes Proquest's Computing, Education, Religion, Science, Social Science and Telecommunication Journal modules.
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 This link opens in a new window
Readers' Guide Retrospective: 1890-1982 provides indexing of over three million articles from more than 550 leading magazines, including full coverage of the original print volumes of Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature. This important resource offers a wide range of researchers access to information about history, culture and seminal developments across nearly a century.
LexisNexis Academic: please use Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
This database has been replaced by Nexis Uni.
New York Times (Historical) This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text and full-image articles from the New York Times. Includes digital reproductions of every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Washington Post (Historical,1877-2008) This link opens in a new window
Online archival access to The Washington Post. Includes page images from every issuecover to coverin downloadable PDF files. Fully searchable.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,800 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955, provides full text for more than 349 journals and more than 120 books.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Covers journal articles, books and dissertations. Produced by the Modern Language Association. Coverage is international and subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing. Coverage of rhetoric and composition and the history, theory and practice of teaching language and literature. Simultaneous users: 7

Print Review Sources

New York Times Film Reviews (1913-38, 1949-68, 1971-84, 1987-88, 1991-92)
Location: PN 1995.N4 (STACKS, 6th floor)
Facsimiles of reviews appearing in the New York Times and arranged in chronological order.

Selected Film Criticism
Location: PN 1995.S426 1982 (vols. 1-7, STACKS, 6th floor)
Seven volumes cover the years 1896 to 1960, providing reviews reprinted in their entirety for selected films released during those years. Each volume covers 150 to 200 films, with the reviews drawn from a variety of non-scholarly periodicals, including trade journals and fan magazines.

Film Literature Index
Location: REF PN 1993.F57 (31 vols.)
Articles in about 300 scholarly and specialist periodicals from around the world, indexed by film title, author, actor/director/etc., as well as by a wide variety of subject headings. This is one of the most comprehensive annual periodical indexes for motion pictures.

Film Review Index (1882-1985)
Location: REF PN 1995.F54 1986 (2 vols.)
Useful guide to locating non-scholarly reviews of some 8,000 feature films.

Guide to Critical Reviews
Part IV: The Screenplay, 1927-1963 (2 vols.); Supplement One: 1963-1980
Location: REF PN 2266.S16
Comprehensive guide to finding reviews of feature films in popular periodicals. Arranged alphabetically by the film's title. Scholarly journals are not covered.

Filmsite.org
Founded in 1995, filmsite.org hosts more than 7,500 movie reviews and feature stories contributed by some 20 critics. Although the reviews are not scholarly, the credentials of the reviewers are made available on the site.