Skip to main content

American History

This guide covers print and online resources useful for research in the field of American history.

Links to Web and Area Resources

AMDOCS: Documents for the Study of American History
Gives links to full-text, primary documents in American history from 1000 AD to the present.

Chronicling America : Historic American Newspapers
Provides access to millions of digitized page images from historic American newspapers from 1789 - 1922.  Sponsored by the Library of Congress and the National Endowment for the Humanities. 

DPLA : Digital Public Library of America
The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America's libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world.

Library of Congress - American Memory
Presents digitized page-images from various Library of Congress collections in American history including, among others, the George Washington Papers; The Chinese in California, 1850 - 1925; and Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936 - 1938.

Library of Congress: Manuscript Reading Room
The Manuscript Division has holdings of nearly sixty million items contained in eleven thousand separate collections;  holdings include "some of the greatest manuscript treasures of American history and culture."  Check the website for hours.

Library of Congress: Newspaper and Current Periodical Reading Room
The holdings of the Serial & Government Publications Division are very strong in US newspapers, with 9,000 titles covering the past three centuries.  Check the website for hours.

Making of America
A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. 

Our Documents
Provides the full text of 100 milestone documents in American History; offers descriptive information about the documents.  The site is sponsored by National History Day, The National Archives and Records Administration, and USA Freedom Corps. 

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu