Skip to main content

American History

This guide covers print and online resources useful for research in the field of American history.

Encyclopedias, dictionaries, and more

Use these specialized reference sources to find background information on your topic:

Colonial America: An Encyclopedia of Social, Political, Cultural, and Economic History   5 vols.  Armonk, N.Y.: Sharpe Reference [2006]
Location: GELMAN Ref E162 .C68 2006
This encyclopedia explores the complete early history of what would become the United States.  

Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History.  3 vols.  New York, Scribner, c2001
Location: GELMAN Ref E169.1 .E624 2001  2nd Floor
Gives essays that survey the character and variety of American thought and expression.

Encyclopedia of the American Revolutionary War    5 vols.  Santa Barbara, Califl: ABC-CLIO, c2006
Online. This scholarly reference on the American Revolution covers the causes, course, and consequences of the war and the political, social, and military origins of the nation.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Nineteenth Century..  3 vols.  New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2001
Location: GELMAN Ref E169.1 .E626 2001  2nd Floor
Provides substantive entries on the events, trends, movements, technologies, and cultural and social changes that shaped America in the 19th C.

Encyclopedia of the United States in the Twentieth Century.  4 vols.  New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, c1996.
Location:  GELMAN Ref E740.7 .E53 1996  2nd Floor 
In-depth essays address the political, economic, social, cultural, and technological developments that marked the U.S. in the 20th C.

Oxford Bibliographies Online: African American Studies
Online.  Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia

Oxford Bibliographies Online:  Atlantic History
Online.  Offers exclusive, authoritative research guides that combine the best features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History   Oxford University Press, 2013
Online. 
Offers a record of the nation’s values, aspirations, anxieties, and beliefs as expressed in both everyday life and formal bodies of thought.
Oxford Encyclopedia of American Military and Diplomatic History   Oxford University Press, 2013
Online. This multi-volume reference work offers both assess and analysis of the key episodes, issues and actors in the military and diplomatic history of the United States. 

Oxford Encyclopedia of American Social History   2 vols.  New York : Oxford University Press, c2012
​Online.  Entries in this encyclopedia synthesize the work done with new sources and methodologies to shift the focus of historical interest to the experiences of ordinary people, examining American history "from the bottom up."

 

 

GW Libraries • 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052202.994.6558AskUs@gwu.edu