Skip to main content
Ask A Librarian
George Washington University
Search this Guide
This guide covers print and online resources useful for research in the field of American history.
Find Primary Materials
in Online Databases
in Gelman Library collections
Find Background Information
Find Statistical Information
Find Web and Area Resources
Import citations from the
Store and organize citations
Add research notes
Format in-text citations
Create bibliographies in different
Citation Style Guides
show you how to
Document the sources you are using in your work
Create citations manually for all types of sources
Embed quotations and paraphrases properly in your text
Find scholarly articles on your topic
America: History & Life with Full Text
This database offers extensive coverage of scholarly articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Arts & Humanities Citation Index
Covers scholarly journal literature in the arts and humanities, including many history publications.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
This database covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, representing scholarship from thousand of journals from over 90 countries
Provides access to full-text articles from back issues of core scholarly journals in subjects including history, African-American studies, anthropology, literature, sociology, and more.
Periodicals Archive Online
Historical (not current) coverage of thousands of periodicals in the humanities and social sciences, going back to Volume 1 for most titles (in some cases, over 200 years).
Articles and reviews from peer-reviewed, scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Find the full text
To open the FULL TEXT:
Use a database to find the article.
Look for the
button or the blue
button in the citation:
More detail here.
Find Books >>
Jul 25, 2019 1:52 PM
Login to LibApps
• 2130 H Street NW • Washington DC 20052